Shunting spree? BJP clearing way for its own governors

Published Jun 20, 2014, 11:09 am IST
Updated Jan 10, 2016, 8:38 am IST
MHA has drawn up a list of 10 governors who may be eased out
 Prime Minister Narendra Modi speaks after releasing commemorative postage stamps on the 2014 FIFA World Cup in New Delhi on Thursday. (Photo: AP)

New Delhi: The process of putting the BJP government’s own nominees in Raj Bhavans has formally started. The Union mi-nistry of home affairs on Thursday moved the first file to the PMO giving additional char-ge of UP and Chhatt-isgarh to the Governors of Uttarakhand and Madhya Pradesh, respectively, paving the way for a reshuffle of governors and new appointments by the month-end.

The terms of Karnataka Governor H.R. Bhardwaj and Tripura Governor Devanand Konwar end on June 28 and will be followed by vacancies in Raj Bhav-ans in Haryana, Bihar, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Assam, West Bengal and Himachal Pradesh.

Read: Complete overhaul? Centre asks UPA appointees to put in papers

A presidential notification is expected to be issued shortly giving Uttarakhand Governor Aziz Qureshi additional charge of UP, replacing B.L. Joshi (who resigned), while MP Governor Ram Naresh Yadav will get charge of the Chhattisgarh Raj Bhavan, replacing Shekhar Dutt (who also resigned) for now.

Read: Rajasthan Governor Margaret Alva meets Narendra Modi

By June-end, a full reshuffle is expected with the focus on states that have Assembly elections due. Top sources disclosed that Union home secretary Anil Goswami has carefully prepared a note on procedures for the removal of governors. It includes provisions of Article 156(1) that states that the governor holds office at the pleasure of the President. Therefore, the President can remove a governor from office at any time without assigning any reason and without giving any opportunity to show cause. However, this is the last option available to the government, which is using the resignation route.

Read: Uttar Pradesh Governor B L Joshi quits, Centre wants others to follow suit

Sources said the MHA has drawn up a list of 10 governors who may be eased out alongside those who are serving second terms.

Read: Chhattisgarh Governor Shekhar Dutt resigns