Related Stories

Jayalalitha, Siddaramaiah, Oomen Chandy skip Modi's swearing-in ceremony

Published May 26, 2014, 11:24 am IST
Updated Apr 1, 2019, 5:50 am IST
Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalitha (Photo: DC archives)
 Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalitha (Photo: DC archives)

New Delhi: The chief ministers of Congress-ruled Karnataka and Kerala will not attend Mr Modi’s swearing-in on Monday. In Chennai, it was indicated that not only would Tamil Nadu chief minister J. Jayalalithaa not attend, she will also not send any representative from her AIADMK.

Officials in Bengaluru said Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah would skip the oath-taking, and that he has several programmes in the city. In Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala CM Oommen Chandy’s officials said he wouldn’t attend due to prior engagements.

West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee and Odisha’s Naveen Patnaik will also not attend personally, but have deputed party colleagues to represent them. Ms Banerjee will send Mukul Roy and Amit Mitra; while Mr Patnaik will send finance minister Pradip Amat.



More From Politics