Entertainment Tollywood 26 Jan 2016 Srimanthudu has a fi ...

Srimanthudu has a field day!

Published Jan 27, 2016, 12:16 am IST
Updated Jan 27, 2016, 12:16 am IST
Mahesh babu-starrer and Box office hit wins as many six awards, including best actor.
Mahesh babu and his wife Namrata
 Mahesh babu and his wife Namrata

The Mahesh Babu- Shruti Haasan-starrer Srimanthudu dominated the final day of the IIFA Utsavam on Monday in Hyderabad when the awards for Telugu and Kannada film industries were announced.

According to grapevine,  the Telangana Government has taken this festival as one of their top priorities and it was evident from the full attendance of the entire Telugu film fraternity at the event.


Top actors like Chiranjeevi, Nagarjuna, Venkatesh and Mahesh Babu, were all present at the venue. Even Ravi Teja, who usually avoids big film events graced the IIFA Utsavam.

When it came to awards, Telugu film Srimanthudu bagged the highest number of accolades with a total of six awards, including leading role male, leading role female, supporting role male, music direction, lyrics, playback singer male.

It was followed by Baahubali - the Beginning,which one won five awards. Both the lead pair of Srimanthudu, Mahesh Babu and Shruti Haasan won the leading role for male and female in thiscategory.


Rana Daggubati ha the award for his negative role in Baahubali- The Beginning while Ramya Krishnan bagged the supporting role female for the same film. Rajamouli was adjudged the best director and his film also won in the best picture category.

For the  Kannada awards, Rangitaranga took home the highest number of accolades with a grand total of six award. It included the best picture, direction, supporting role male, negative role, music direction and lyrics. Sai Kumar got also awarded for the same Kannada film in a supporting role male category.


IIFA also honoured late Akkineni Nageswara Rao and D. Ramanaidu for their service to the film industry. The Akkineni and Rama Naidu family members were present to receive the respective awards. The Telugu awards was hosted by Allu Sirish, Navdeep and Regina Cassandra.

Best Picture: H K Prakash (Rangitaranga)
Direction: Anup Bhandari (Rangitaranga)
Leading Role Male: Yash (Mr & Mrs Ramachari)
Leading Role Female: Radhika Pandit (Mr & Mrs Ramachari)
Supporting Role Male: Sai Kumar (Rangitaranga)
Supporting Role Female: Lakshmi Raj (Krishna Leela)
Comic Role: Sadhu Kokila (Mr & Mrs Ramachari)
Negative Role: Arvind Rao (Rangitaranga)
Music Direction: Anup Bhandari (Rangitaranga)
Lyrics: Anup Bhandari (Rangitaranga)
Playback Singer Male: Dhanush (Vajrakaya)
Playback Singer Female: Shreya Ghoshal (Mr & Mrs Ramachari)


Best Picture: Baahubali-The Beginning
Direction: S S Rajamouli (Baahubali-The Beginning)
Leading Role Male: Mahesh Babu (Srimanthudu)
Leading Role Female: Shruti Hassan (Srimanthudu)
Supporting Role Male: Jagapathi Babu (Srimanthudu)
Supporting Role Female: Ramya Krishna (Baahubali-The Beginning)
Comic Role: Vennela Kishore (Bhale Bhale Magadivoi)
Negative Role: Rana Daggubati (Baahubali-The Beginning)