103rd Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra2000641080828671 Tamil Nadu107001605921450 Delhi97200682563004 Gujarat35398254141926 Uttar Pradesh2655418154773 Telangana2231211537288 Karnataka215499246335 West Bengal2123114166736 Rajasthan1975615663453 Andhra Pradesh186978422232 Haryana1669012493260 Madhya Pradesh1460411234598 Bihar11860876590 Assam11002674414 Odisha9070622446 Jammu and Kashmir82465143127 Punjab61094306162 Kerala5205304826 Chhatisgarh3161252614 Uttarakhand3093250242 Jharkhand2739203514 Goa16848256 Tripura155812021 Manipur13256670 Himachal Pradesh104871510 Puducherry94644814 Nagaland5782280 Chandigarh4663956 Arunachal Pradesh252751 Mizoram1601230 Sikkim101520 Meghalaya50421
Technology Other News 29 Jun 2020 59 Chinese apps, inc ...

59 Chinese apps, including TikTok, Shareit banned as #BoycottChina goes official

Published Jun 29, 2020, 9:46 pm IST
Updated Jun 29, 2020, 9:52 pm IST
"They are engaged in activities prejudicial to the sovereignty and integrity of India, defence of India, security of state and public order"
The government said it received several representations from citizens and decided to act.
 The government said it received several representations from citizens and decided to act.

The government has banned 59 Chinese apps, including hugely popular ones like the social short video app TikTok and the sharing platform Shareit, following the standoff with the Chinese forces in Ladakh.

A press release issued by the Ministry of Information Technology said it was invoking its power under Section 69A of the Information Technology Act, read with the relevant provisions of the Information Technology (Procedure and Safeguards for Blocking of Access of Information by Public) Rules 2009 to ban 59 apps.


The apps were engaged in activities which is prejudicial to sovereignty and integrity of India, defence of India, security of state and public order, it said.

The ministry said it had received several complaints from various sources, including citizens, the Indian Cyber Crime Coordination Centre and the Computer Emergency Response Team (CERT-IN)  that some mobile apps were stealing and surreptitiously transmitting user data to servers located outside India. , and therefore decided to act.

“There has been a strong chorus in the public space to take strict action against apps that harm India’s sovereignty as well as the privacy of our citizens,” the press release said, adding that the government therefore decided to disallow the use of the apps.

Here is the list of apps that have been banned:

1.    TikTok 

2.    Shareit

3.    Kwai

4.    UC Browser

5.    Baidu map

6.    Shein

7.    Clash of Kings

8.    DU battery saver

9.    Helo

10.    Likee

11.    YouCam makeup

12.    Mi Community

13.    CM Browsers

14.    Virus Cleaner

15.    APUS Browser

16.    ROMWE

17.    Club Factory

18.    Newsdog

19.    Beutry Plus

20.    WeChat

21.    UC News

22.    QQ Mail

23.    Weibo

24.    Xender

25.    QQ Music

26.    QQ Newsfeed

27.    Bigo Live

28.    SelfieCity

29.    Mail Master

30.    Parallel Space

31.    Mi Video Call Xiaomi

32.    WeSync

33.    ES File Explorer

34.    Viva Video QU Video Inc

35.    Meitu

36.    Vigo Video

37.    New Video Status

38.    DU Recorder

39.    Vault- Hide

40.    Cache Cleaner DU App studio

41.    DU Cleaner

42.    DU Browser

43.    Hago Play With New Friends

44.    Cam Scanner

45.    Clean Master Cheetah Mobile

46.    Wonder Camera

47.    Photo Wonder

48.    QQ Player

49.    We Meet

50.    Sweet Selfie

51.    Baidu Translate

52.    Vmate

53.    QQ International

54.    QQ Security Center

55.    QQ Launcher

56.    U Video

57.    V fly Status Video

58.    Mobile Legends

59.    DU Privacy

Click on Deccan Chronicle Technology and Science for the latest news and reviews. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter