What about your Google data after you die?

DECCAN CHRONICLE.
Published Jul 4, 2018, 8:33 pm IST
Updated Jul 4, 2018, 8:36 pm IST
With the implementation of smart algorithms and links, Google now has managed to acquire a huge amount of an individual's data.
Google's Inactive Account Manager is there to take care of all your data and personal information once you are no more. (Representative Image/Source: Pixabay)
 Google's Inactive Account Manager is there to take care of all your data and personal information once you are no more. (Representative Image/Source: Pixabay)

"Google knows almost everything about us", we have been hearing people saying this often lately and they are right. With the implementation of smart algorithms and links, Google now has managed to acquire a huge amount of an individual's data through everything one does online. However, seldom do we think what will happen to this accumulated data after we are dead.

Well, Google's Inactive Account Manager is there to take care of all your data and personal information once you are no more. In order to make that happen, you need to do the essentials right now.

 

The most important aspect of Inactive Account Manager is choosing an authorised person whom you wish to grant your data. But, how will Google find out that you are dead? For indicating your absence, you need to set a duration of inactivity of your account. Suppose, you set two months of time through this feature and your account stays unused for this period, Google will get notified after that and will take it as an indication that you are not there to use the account.

Among all the platforms (Chrome, YouTube, G Suite, PlayStore, Photos) which work concertedly with Google, you can select the ones whose data you want to share. By doing this, you will be sharing all the important data which you wish to pass on to your family or friends. Your selected administer gets notified by Google that you gave them the access to your information along with the link to download it.

Once the information is shared, you can select the duration after which you wish to completely destroy your data. If you haven't done all the aforementioned process through Inactive Account Manager, your closed ones can still acquire the information from Google by requesting it. However, it might require a bit of hassle of submission of documents such as death certificate and other verifications.

Click on Deccan Chronicle Technology and Science for the latest news and reviews. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter.





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT