Leading run-getters in T20 world cups

Discover the leading run-getters in T20 World Cup history, from Virat Kohli to Chris Gayle, who have made their mark in cricket's slam-bang format
Hyderabad: With cricket's slam-bang version set for its ninth world cup, here is a list of the leading run-getters in the T20 showpiece event.

Virat Kohli: 1,141 runs

The talismanic Indian batter has scored the most runs in T20 world cups.

In the five editions Virat has played, his ability to thrive under pressure and deliver match-winning performances has cemented his reputation as one of the finest batters in T20 cricket.

He holds the record for most runs in a single edition of the tournament -- 319 in 2014. He was also sensational in the 2016 edition, scoring 296 runs.

Mahela Jayawardene: 1,016 runs

The now retired Jayawardene's performances in T20 world cups have been instrumental in former champion Sri Lanka's success in the tournament. He was a consistent scorer across the five editions he played.

Chris Gayle: 965 runs

One of the most prolific and entertaining hitters in cricket history, Gayle is widely regarded as one of the most destructive batters, particularly in T20s. No longer competing for the West Indies, his performances in T20 World Cups have been nothing short of spectacular, making him a fan favourite and an important player for the West Indies when they won their maiden title in 2012.

Rohit Sharma: 963 runs

The current India skipper has been a key player for his team in the T20 world cups. His ability to score big runs and provide stability at the top of the order has been crucial for India's success in the tournament.

He has played all editions of the T20 world cups.

Tillakaratne Dilshan: 897 runs

Dilshan, who has retired, was a vital cog in the Sri Lankan team's lineup across six editions. He was the leading run-scorer in the 2009 edition with 317 runs.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle )
Next Story