Against All Odds: USA Beats Bangladesh in Dramatic Second T20 International

The USA (Associate member) gave a significant setback to Bangladesh (Full member) in the series of 3 T20 by winning the second T20 internationals and sealing the series. It's their first series win against test playing nation. It will boost the confidence of Co-host nation of upcoming T20 world cup which is going to take place from June 1.

Bangladesh captain Najmul Hossain Shanto opted to bowl first after winning the toss. The United States of America got off to a solid start, reaching 42 runs without loss in the mandatory powerplay and 100 runs in 14.5 overs. Despite a crucial third-wicket partnership, they posted 144/6 in 20 overs.
Bangladesh, in reply, struggled early but recovered steadily, reaching 76/2 at the drinks break. However, they fell short, scoring 138/10 in 19.3 overs, losing by 6 runs. Monank Patel, with a score of 42, and Ali Khan, taking 3 wickets, stood out as the heroes of the second T20 match. Meanwhile, renowned players like Shakib Al Hasan disappointed the Bangladesh team.
In post match conference Ali khan said - "If we're given opportunities and keep playing at the associate or lower level, we'll just stay there. But facing top 10 teams gives us a chance to upset and showcase our talent. Associates should play more against full members to show the world what we're capable of."

Bangladesh posted 153 in the first T20, but USA chased it down with 5 wickets in hand on May 21.
From India's standpoint, it's crucial to take note of the USA cricket team's performance because India scheduled to play against USA on June 12th in the T20 World Cup as their third match. And its important to understand the strengths and capabilities of the USA team.

On May 3, USA announced 15 player squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup. And most of them belongs to Indian origin.

Squad: Monank Patel (Captain), Aaron Jones (Vice-captain), Steven Taylor, Corey Anderson, Saurabh Netravalkar, Jessy Singh, Harmeet Singh, Noshtush Kenjige, Shadley Van Schalkwyk, Nitish Kumar, Andries Gous, Shayan Jahangir, Ali Khan, Nisarg Patel, Milind Kumar.

Reserve Players: Gajanand Singh, Juanoy Drysdale, Yasir Mohammad.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle )
Next Story