Mumbai: Indian opener Rohit Sharma was given out caught behind in a controversial manner during India-West Indies clash at Old Trafford.
The third umpire's unexpected decision overruled the on-field umpire's decision which triggered a massive online debate. However, the most heartfelt and surprising reaction came from the batsman's wife Ritika Sajdeh.
For once I'm not convinced by that third umpire decision. Rohit Sharma wasn't either.— Joy Bhattacharjya (@joybhattacharj) June 27, 2019
Did that hit the bat or pad and was it conclusive? @ImRo45 doesn’t think so but the umpire says out and that’s what matters for the West Indies.— Boria Majumdar (@BoriaMajumdar) June 27, 2019
Indian skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bat first. But India were left stunned after third umpire Michael Gough of England decided to take a different route than on-field umpire by declaring Rohit Sharma out. Rohit Sharma nicked Kemar Roach's delivery in the sixth over.
Rohit entered the match needing two sixes to break MS Dhoni’s record of most maximums for India in ODIs. Both currently have 225 sixes each....