Sports Cricket 27 May 2018 IPL 2018 Final, CSK ...

IPL 2018 Final, CSK vs SRH: MS Dhoni plays troubleshooter after toss drama; watch how

DECCAN CHRONICLE.
Published May 27, 2018, 8:03 pm IST
Updated May 27, 2018, 8:03 pm IST
CSK had won the toss and elected to field, despite a small confusion on the field.
While MS Dhoni had tossed the coin, match referee Andy Pycroft had confirmed it was heads. And here began the confusion. (Photo: BCCI)
 While MS Dhoni had tossed the coin, match referee Andy Pycroft had confirmed it was heads. And here began the confusion. (Photo: BCCI)

Mumbai: MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won the toss on Sunday during the Indian Premier League (IPL) final against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and had elected to field at the Wankhede Stadium here.

Both teams had made changes to their side. While Karn Sharma came in for Harbhajan Singh in CSK's team news, Sandeep Sharma and Sreevats Goswami came in for Khaleel Ahmed and Wriddhiman Saha.

 

However, the toss was not short of any drama. While MS Dhoni had tossed the coin, match referee Andy Pycroft had confirmed it was heads. And here began the confusion.

Sanjay Manjrekar: "Who called heads? You (to Dhoni) called heads? "
MS Dhoni: " He (Williamson) called tails".

Manjrekar (looking confused): " You called heads? (to Dhoni)"
Manjrekar: " He(Williamson) called heads?"

Dhoni: "He called tails".

Manjrekar: "Heads is what came down, and you called heads?"(to Dhoni)
Dhoni (Smiling): "He called tails".

 

Following this, Manjrekar says, " You have won the toss, right, Dhoni? Stop fooling around."

After this confusion, Manjrekar confirmed that MS Dhoni had won the toss.
This is not an ordinary thing that is happening.

Here is the entire video of the toss and how the confusion unfolded.

Back in 2011 during the World Cup final between India and Sri Lanka at this very stadium, the toss had to be conducted twice as match referee Jeff Crowe could not hear the-then Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara's call.

In the second attempt, the Lankan skipper had called heads and the result went Sri Lanka's way. Interestingly, Sangakkara had called heads in the first instance too, but was not audible for the match referee despite being heard on TV as replays had confirmed the same.

 

...




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT