Sports Cricket 27 Apr 2018 IPL 2018, DD vs KKR: ...

IPL 2018, DD vs KKR: Shreyas Iyer, Prithvi Shaw guide hosts to 219-4

Published Apr 27, 2018, 7:05 pm IST
Updated Apr 28, 2018, 9:48 pm IST
Score after 20 overs, Delhi Daredevils 219-4: Shreyas Iyer 93(40), Vijay Shankar 0(0); Shivam Mavi 4-0-58-1
Prithvi Shaw led the way for Delhi Daredevils at the start with a 62-run knock. (Photo: BCCI)
 Prithvi Shaw led the way for Delhi Daredevils at the start with a 62-run knock. (Photo: BCCI)

New Delhi: Riding on Prithvi Shaw and Shreyas Iyer’s knock, Delhi Daredevils (DD) posted 219-4 on board after being put into bat by the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in New Delhi on Friday.

Shaw along with Colin Munro provided DD a perfect start before Shivam Mavi got the first breakthrough by dismissing the New Zealand batsman. With Iyer at the other end, Shaw stitched another crucial fifty run partnership as the hosts looked set for a big total.


But Piyush Chawla struck with the wicket of the youngster. In the following over, Rishabh Pant fell cheaply to a bouncer from Andre Russell as the visitors found a way back into the game.

However, just when DD needed someone to step up, it was skipper Iyer who came to the fore. The Mumbai batsman smacked a thunderous 93 off 40 balls just to help his side post a mammoth total.

DD 219-4 after 20 overs:

RUN OUT! Maxwell wants to get at the striker's end but is halfway down the line and it's too late before he can make it safe.

DD 140-3 after 15 overs:

CAUGHT! What happened there? Russell bangs it in short and it heads towards Pant who is caught clueless. Ball comes of the glove and heads to Karthik behind the stumps.

BOWLED! The dressing room stands in appraisal as Shaw heads back to the pavilion. Chawla bowls a googly that skids low as the batsman tries to play across the line. The timber is rattled.


DD 106-1 after 12 overs:

SHAW REACHES 50! The youngster has showcased immense responsibility since the time he has come out to bat. Started off the innings slowly but has settled well for a big innings here.

DD 59-1 after 7 overs:

BOWLED! Full delivery by Mavi and Munro tries to make room and ease it towards third man. Gets a bottom edge that crashes into the stumps.

DD 51-0 after 5 overs:

FIFTY FOR DD! Shaw and Munro have done all they can in the power play. Need to convert this start into a bigger score.

Preview: A new-look Delhi Daredevils (DD) side under captain Shreyas Iyer will aim to revive their fortunes this 2018 Indian Premier League (IPL) season when they face Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the Feroz Shah Kotla in New Delhi on Friday.


The hosts have so far had a terrible start to their campaign, sitting at the bottom with only one win in six matches so far that saw Gautam Gambhir step down as skipper. Meanwhile, KKR has been well rested and will look to bring all their energy into the match.

Dinesh Karthik and co sit on the fourth spot in the IPL table with three wins. The last time the two sides met this season, it was KKR who ended up on the winning side with a gigantic 71-run win. The visitors will hope to pick up a win again as they look to consolidate their place in the top four.



The news from the center is that KKR have won and elected to bowl.

Delhi Daredevils: Prithvi Shaw, Colin Munro, Glenn Maxwell, Rishabh Pant(w), Shreyas Iyer(c), Vijay Shankar, Rahul Tewatia, Liam Plunkett, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Trent Boult

Kolkata Knight Riders: Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Andre Russell, Shubman Gill, Mitchell Johnson, Piyush Chawla, Shivam Mavi, Kuldeep Yadav



Delhi Daredevils: Shreyas Iyer (C), Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant, Glenn Maxwell, Gautam Gambhir, Jason Roy, Colin Munro, Mohammed Shami, Amit Mishra, Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Daniel Christian, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Trent Boult, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh and Liam Plunkett.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Dinesh Karthik (C), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Mitchell Johnson, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubman Gill, Ishank Jaggi, Nitish Rana, Vinay Kumar, Apoorv Wankhade, Rinku Singh, Shivam Mavi, Cameron Delport, Javon Searles, Tom Curran and Prasidh Krishna.


When is the match?

The match is scheduled to start at 8 P.M. IST on Friday (April 27).

Where is the match?

The match will take place at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi.

Live telecast and timings:

With Star India now acquiring the media rights from Sony Pictures Network India for the upcoming season, the matches will be telecast on various Star Sports channels.

Live streaming:

The matches can be viewed live on or on the Hotstar app.


Location: India, Delhi, New Delhi