Sports Cricket 27 Feb 2019 Ind vs Aus 2nd T20: ...

Ind vs Aus 2nd T20: Centurion Maxwell stars as Australia win to clinch series

Published Feb 27, 2019, 6:22 pm IST
Updated Feb 27, 2019, 10:37 pm IST
Score after 19.4 overs, Australia 194-3, Maxwell 113*, Handscomb 20*; Shankar 2/38, Siddarth Kaul 1/45.
Glenn maxwell remained unbeaten on 113 runs as Australia clinched the series 2-0.(Photo: AP)
 Glenn maxwell remained unbeaten on 113 runs as Australia clinched the series 2-0.(Photo: AP)

Bengaluru: Glenn Maxwell’s (113) unbeaten knock overshadowed Virat Kohli’s heroics as Australia completed a 2-0 series win after their seven-wicket win in the second T20I against India on Wednesday. This was Virat Kohli’s first series loss at home since he took over as captain of the Indian team.

After losing Aaron Finch and Marcus Stoinis early, a 73-run stand between D ‘Arcy Short and Maxwell ensured that the Aussies were on course for the win.


Despite losing Short for 40 runs, Maxwell completed his third T20I century whereas Peter Handscomb supported him in the other end in a 99-run partnership.

It was a forgettable day for the Indian bowlers as both Vijay Shankar (2/38 from 4 overs) and Siddarth Kaul had expensive spells.

Australia 95-3 after 11.1 overs

WICKET! D 'Arcy Short finds KL Rahul at cover as Vijay Shankar removes the Aussie for 40 runs.

Australia 22-2 after 4 overs

WICKET! Dhawan takes an easy catch as Finch slams this one over mid-wicket. Vijay Shankar gets the wicket as the captain departs for 8 runs

Australia 13-1 after 2.2 overs

BOWLED 'EM! Stoinis did not see that coming as Siddhart Kaul sees him off for just seven runs. A fierce delivery from Kaul as the bails end up flying.

India innings

Virat Kohli(72*) and MS Dhoni (40) were back to their best as their 100-run partnership guided India to 190-4 in the second T20I against Australia here on Wednesday.

Innings Break!

Kohli finishes it off in style. #TeamIndia post a formidable total of 190/4 (Virat 72*, Rahul 47) for Australia to chase.

Will #TeamIndia defend the total or will the Aussies chase it down? #INDvAUS

— BCCI (@BCCI) February 27, 2019

Put into bat, KL Rahul displayed some promising talent as he got the hosts to a strong start. But, he fell short of a second consecutive fifty after being dismissed for 47.

However, Dhawan’s stint was short-lived as Jason Behrendorff saw him off for just 14 runs.

Dhoni also looked confident in his innings of 40 but was dismissed by Pat Cummins, who finished his spell with 1/40 from three overs.

The MS Dhoni entertainment comes to an end. He departs after scoring a brilliant 40 off 23 deliveries.#TeamIndia 174/4 with 5 more balls to go #INDvAUS

— BCCI (@BCCI) February 27, 2019

The last over proved to be expensive for the Aussies as the hosts scored 18 from six balls, which included two wides.

Behrendorff had a decent spell, finishing with 1/17 from three overs.

India 138-3 after 16.5 overs

FIFTY! Kohli is back to his best as he slams his 20th T20I fifty.

FIFTY!@imVkohli brings up his 20th T20I half-century off 29 deliveries. What a player 😎😎 #INDvAUS

— BCCI (@BCCI) February 27, 2019

India 74-3 after 10.5 overs

WHAT A STUNNER! D'Arcy Short puts one wide outside off as Rishabh Pant slams one to Jhye Richardson at long-off. Pant out for just one run.

India 70-2 after 9.2 overs

WICKET! Jason Behrendorff strikes to dismiss Dhawan, who departs after a cameo of 14 runs.

India 61-1 after 7.1 overs

WICKET! Coulter-Nile strikes to dismiss KL Rahul for 47 as Jhye Richardson completes a comfortable catch at deep third-man.

Rahul departs after a well made 47 off 25 deliveries.#TeamIndia 61/1

Scorecard - #INDvAUS

— BCCI (@BCCI) February 27, 2019

Toss update

An unchanged Australia have won the toss and opted to bowl.

Australia win the toss and elect to bowl first in the final T20I at Bengaluru.

How many runs will #TeamIndia put on board? #INDvAUS

— BCCI (@BCCI) February 27, 2019

India have got in Shikhar Dhawan, Vijay Shankar and Umesh Yadav in place of Rohit Sharma, Mayank Markande and Siddhart Kaul.

2nd T20I. India XI: S Dhawan, L Rahul, V Kohli, R Pant, MS Dhoni, V Shankar, D Karthik, K Pandya, Y Chahal, J Bumrah, S Kaul #IndvAus

— BCCI (@BCCI) February 27, 2019

2nd T20I. Australia XI: D Short, M Stoinis, A Finch, G Maxwell, P Handscomb, A Turner, N Coulter-Nile, P Cummins, J Richardson, J Behrendorff, A Zampa #IndvAus

— BCCI (@BCCI) February 27, 2019


So close, yet so far. That was the story of India's three-wicket loss to Australia in the first of the two T20Is in Visakhapatnam on Sunday.

The two teams once again lock horns in the second T20I at the Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Saturday.

While the visitors will eye a first T20 series win in India, Virat Kohli and co will have some homework to be done in terms of their batting order.

Only KL Rahul (50), Virat Kohli (24) and MS Dhoni (29) registered double figures in the previous match, whereas the rest of the team failed to produce starts as the hosts collapsed to 126-7.

Nathan Coulter-Nile did the damage for the Aussies, finishing his four-over spell with 3-26.

The last T20 International was played here in February 2017 when India beat England by 75 runs after amassing 202 for six.


India: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (v-c), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Krunal Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Sidharth Kaul, Mayank Markande.

Australia: Aaron Finch (c), D'Arcy Short, Pat Cummins, Alex Carey, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Peter Handscomb, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Adam Zampa.

Match starts: 7pm IST.

Update Here

Update Here