Deccan Chronicle

Fakhar Zaman opens up on Jasprit Bumrah no-ball in ICC Champions Trophy final

Deccan Chronicle | DC Correspondent

Published on: June 26, 2017 | Updated on: June 26, 2017

Fakhar Zaman had a lucky escape in the all-important final when he was batting on 3 as Bumrah overstepped.

Fakhar Zaman scored a match-winning hundred in the ICC Champions Trophy final against India. (Photo: AP)

Fakhar Zaman scored a match-winning hundred in the ICC Champions Trophy final against India. (Photo: AP)

Karachi: Fakhar Zaman’s introduction in the playing XI changed the fortunes of the Pakistan cricket as the left-hander played a pivotal role in his team’s ICC Champions Trophy triumph.

While the left-hander had two fifty plus scores – 50 vs Sri Lanka and 57 vs England in the semifinal – against his name before the all-important final against arch-rivals India, his shot to fame was his breathtaking and match-winning hundred against Virat Kohli on June 18 at The Oval in London.

Zaman, who was not picked for Pakistan’s opening game against India, scored 114 off 106 balls as Pakistan amassed 338 runs batting first. Zaman though had a lucky escape when he was on three.

The left-hander had edged a Jasprit Bumrah delivery to MS Dhoni. Zaman’s "heart sank" as he saw Dhoni catching that ball. However, as Bumrah had overstepped by millimetres, the on-field umpire stopped Zaman going back to the pavilion. From there on, there was no looking back for him as he tonked Indian bowlers to all parts of the ground.

"When I was caught behind, my heart sank. I was stunned and slowly started making my way back to the dressing room with all my hopes and dreams crushed. I kept thinking how could I lose my wicket here, I was supposed to score big, not get out on three," Zaman was quoted as saying by Tribune.

"When the umpires stopped me, it was like a new hope. It felt like a new life. I thought to myself if this is a no ball then today is surely my day," added the Pakistani youngster.

Latest News
Most Popular