Sports Cricket 24 Jan 2018 IPL 2018: Here' ...

IPL 2018: Here's the complete list of 41 South African cricketers in player auction

Published Jan 24, 2018, 5:22 pm IST
Updated Jan 24, 2018, 5:25 pm IST
The IPL auctions are scheduled to be held on January 27 and 28 in Bengaluru.
A total of 41 South African players will take part in the auction. (Photo: AP / AFP)
 A total of 41 South African players will take part in the auction. (Photo: AP / AFP)

Mumbai: Wicketkeeper batsman Quinton de Kock and current Proteas’ captain Faf du Plessis will lead South Africa’s set of candidates in the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL ) auctions, when the event takes place on January 27 and 28 in Bengaluru.

The duo are two of the 41 South Africans who will be under the hammer during the two-day event.


Senior batsman Hashim Amla and explosive batter David Miller are also in the fray for the auctions, along with pacer Kagiso Rabada, who has looked good in the ongoing Test series against India.

However, it remains to be seen if Dale Steyn will be picked up by any of the teams. The speedster had ruled himself out of last year’s IPL tournament.

Meanwhile, there will be new faces from the rainbow nation for the upcoming auctions. While AB de Villiers has already been retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore, newcomers like Aiden Markram and Lungi Ngidi will hope to be picked up in the upcoming event.


While Aiden Markram has already scored a couple of centuries and three fifties in six matches, Lungi Ngidi has already taken seven wickets from the three innings against India, including a five-wicket haul.

With the much-awaited auction inching closer, here is the complete list of South African cricketers who will take part in the auction:

1) Quinton de Kock

2) Kagiso Rabada

3) Imran Tahir

4) Colin Ingram

5) Dale Steyn

6) Tabraiz Shamsi

7) Robbie Frylinck

8) Reeza Hendricks

9) Aiden Markram

10) JP Duminy

11) Keshav Maharaj


12) Aaron Phangiso

13) Cameron Delport

14) Dean Elgar

15) Ryan Mclaren

16) Jon-Jon Smuts

17) Merchant de Lange

18) Morne Morkel

19) Lungi Ngidi

20) Christiaan Jonker

21) Farhaan Behardien

22) Wayne Parnell

23) Andile Lucky Phehlukwayo

24) Vernon Philander

25) Dwaine Pretorius

26) Dane Paterson

27) Rassie Van Der Dussen

28) Wiaan Moulder

29) David Wiese

30) Kyle Abbot

31) Beuran Hendricks

32) Vaughn Van Jaarsveld

33) Duanne Olivier

34) Junior Dala

35) Lizaad Williams

36) Thomas Kaber


37)  Patrick Kruger

38) Shadley Van Schalkwyk

39) Faf du Plessis

40) Hashim Amla

41) David Miller