Dhoni, Rohit, Yuvraj set for 6th World T20 in a row

Indian women Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami will make their 5th appearance.

Mirpur: India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Rohit Sharma and Yuvraj Singh are among 19 cricketers set to feature in their sixth successive ICC World Twenty20 beginning next month in India.

There are 29 women's cricketers, including India's Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami, who will make their fifth consecutive appearance in the mega event.

In the men's event, Bangladesh will field a team that boasts five players who have played in all the previous five events. They are Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah and Mushfiqur Rahim.

West Indies have three players who have participated in the previous events, which were staged in South Africa, England, West Indies, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle and Denesh Ramdin have played for the West Indies.

Nathan McCullum, Ross Taylor (both New Zealand), AB de Villiers, JP Duminy (both South Africa), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lasith Malinga (both Sri Lanka), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan) and Shane Watson (Australia) are the other players to attend their sixth straight ICC World Twenty20.

In the women's event, which has been staged alongside the men's event since 2009, the West Indies will enter the competition with six players having played in all tournaments to date. These are Stafanie Taylor, Merissa Aguilleira, Deandra Dottin, Stacy-Ann King, Anisa Mohammed and Shakera Selman.

Pakistan has named five players who have the experience of four previous events. They are Asmavia Iqbal, Bismah Maroof, Javeria Khan, Nain Abedi and Sana Mir.

England and South Africa have retained four players each from the previous four tournaments and they are Charlotte Edwards, Lydia Greenway, Jenny Gunn, Sarah Taylor (all England), and Mignon du Preez, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail and Dane Van Niekerk (all South Africa).

New Zealand and Sri Lanka will be fielding three players each who have been members of the sides that have played in previous events. Suzie Bates, Sophie Devine, Sara McGlashan (all New Zealand), Chamari Athapaththu, Eshani Lokusooriya and Udeshika Probodani (all Sri Lanka) are the players.

Alex Blackwell and Ellyse Perry (both Australia) are the other players to attend their fifth successive women's competition.

In 2018 and 2022, there will be standalone women's ICC World T20 tournaments, which will be staged in the West Indies and South Africa, respectively.

( Source : PTI )
Next Story