Danny Derek Prince dazzles in State Bank of Hyderabad's victory

Opener Danny Derek Prince smashed a whirlwind 95 to take State Bank of Hyderabad into the quarterfinals.

Hyderabad: Opener Danny Derek Prince smashed a whirlwind 95 to take State Bank of Hyderabad into the quarterfinals of the DY Patil T20 all-India cricket tournament being played in Mumbai.

The city side beat Indian Oil by eight runs in a crucial match on Monday to set up a quarterfinal against BPL to be played on Tuesday.

Batting first, SBH rode on Danny’s 59-ball knock that included 11 boundaries and three sixes to pile up 174 for 9 in their stipulated overs. B. Sumanth (30) and T. Suman (26) made useful contributions as well.

In reply, Indian Oil made a threatening charge at the target through Pinal Shah (42), Ravikant Shukla (36) and Khizar Dafedar (30) but fell short in the end.

Brief scores

State Bank of Hyderabad 174/9 in 20 overs (Danny Derek Prince 95 — 59b, 4x11, 6x3; B. Sumanth 30) bt Indian Oil 166/8 in 20 overs (Pinal Shah 42, Ravikant Shukla 36, Khizar Dafedar 30, Akash Bhandari 2/21, Ahmed Quadri 2/21, Alfred Absolem 2/35, Vishal Sharma 2/36)

State Bank of Travancore 171/7 in 20 overs (Tejas CM 58, Abhishek Mohan 48, Imtiyaz Ahmed 3/43) bt CAG 144/9 in 20 overs (Ankit Sharma 36, Bravesh Shetty 34, Fabid Farook 3/23, Abhishek Mohan 2/33, Vinod Kumar 2/25)
n Reliance One 159/7 in 20 overs (Axar Patel 83 n.o, Akshdeep Nath 31) bt ONGC (Nitish Rana 52, Yuzvendra Chahal 3/26, Yogesh Nagar 2/12, Axar Patel 2/28)

DY Patil ‘A’ 184/6 in 20 overs (Sarfaraz Khan 46, Shoeb Shaikh 36 n.o, Swapnil Singh 31, Sujit Nayak 2/18, Akbar Khan 2/42) bt Tata Sports Club 160/7 in 20 overs (Praful Waghela 38, Sairaj Patil 36, Shubham Ranjane 2/29, Piyush Chawla 2/40)

Quarterfinal line-up: State Bank of Hyderabad vs BPCL; Reliance One vs DY Patil ‘B’; Central Railway vs Mumbai Customs; DY Patil ‘A’ vs CAG.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story