Sports Cricket 22 Jun 2019 ICC World Cup 2019: ...

ICC World Cup 2019: IND VS AFG; India wins the match by 11 runs

Published Jun 22, 2019, 1:09 pm IST
Updated Jun 22, 2019, 11:32 pm IST
AFG: 213/10
(Photo: Cricket World Cup/Twitter)
 (Photo: Cricket World Cup/Twitter)





India wins the match by 11 runs!

49.5 BOWLED AGAIN! Shami takes 3 in 3, finishes the game with a hat-trick. AFG are all out for 213

49.4 BOWLED! Shami takes 2 in 2, dismisses Rahman for 0.

49.3: Shami strikes, takes out Nabi. 3 balls to go, 12 runs needed.

45.4: Chahal takes his second wicket and dismisses Rashid Khan. This match is a very close affair.

41.3: Pandya to Najibullah, goes to Chahal hands. Out!

34.6: Bowled! Chahal spins Asghar Afghan and takes him out!

28.6: Caught Again. Shahidi dismissed for 21.

28.4: CAUGHT! Bumrah takes out Rahmat Shah for 36. India get that much needed wicket.


16.5: Gulbadin Naib mishits the ball, which goes high and ends up in Shankar's hands. OUT.

6.3: M. Shami dismisses Hazratullah. Clean bowled!


50: India sets up a target of 225 for Afghanistan to chase

49.5: Wicket! Kedar Jadhav goes for 52

49.3: Wickets! Naib bowls out Shami who tried to play a big shot

49.1: Kedar Jadhav gets his first world 50

48.4: Wicket! India's x-factor Hardik Pandya goes after scoring 7

45.5: India reaches 200 after losing five wickets

44.3: Wicket! Dhoni gets stumped


34.4: India reaches 150 after losing 4 wickets

30.3: Wicket! Nabi gets big fish Kohli for 67

26.2: Wicket! Afghanistan another wicket as Vijay Shankar gets trapped LBW after scoring 29

14.2: Wicket! Mohammad Nabi grabs KL Rahul's wicket after he tried to play a reverse sweep, hence giving an easy catch to Hazratullah Zazai

11.1: KL Rahul Virat Kohli trying to build partnership as India reaches 50

4.2: Wicket! Mujeeb gets Rohit Sharma bowled out for 1

TOSS: India has won the toss and have elected to bat first

When is the match?


The match is scheduled to start at 3 pm IST on Saturday. (June 22)

Where is the match?

The match will take place at the Southampton.

Live Telecast:

Star India has acquired the rights of telecasting the tournament, and the matches will be telecast on various Star Sports Channel.

The matches can be viewed live on Hotstar as well.

Pre-Match Analysis

Rampaging India will look to carry on its winning run, having defeated heavy weights Australia, inconsistent Pakistan and World Cup exiting South Africa. On the other hand, Afghanistan has lost all the five matches it played. In the last game, leg spinner had a terrible day after England skipper Eoin Morgan turned on his beat mode to smack Rashid khan all over the park on-route to his career best 148.


During the last match, Eoin Morgan had blasted 17 sixes to surpass previous record holders AB De Villiers and Chris Gayle to become the first batsman to hit 17 sixes in a single ODI match. However, for Afghanistan, the only positive from the last match is the team’s batting unit was able bat out the full quota of 50-overs, with Hashmatullah Shahidi coming in with a handy 76.  


Afghanistan’s line-up: Hazratullah Zazai, Gulbadin Naib(c), Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Ikram Ali Khil(w), Najibullah Zadran, Rashid Khan, Aftab Alam, Mujeeb Ur Rahman


India’s line-up: Lokesh Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli(c), Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni(w), Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah