Sports Cricket 21 Sep 2018 Asia Cup 2018, IND v ...

Asia Cup 2018, IND vs BAN: Rohit Sharma top-scores with 83 runs as India clinch win

Published Sep 21, 2018, 4:13 pm IST
Updated Sep 21, 2018, 11:56 pm IST
Rohit Sharma slammed another 50 as India inched closer to victory. (Photo: AFP)
 Rohit Sharma slammed another 50 as India inched closer to victory. (Photo: AFP)

Dubai: Captain Rohit Sharma led from the front as India beat Bangladesh by seven wickets to get their first couple of points in the Asia Cup Super Four stage.

This match was similar to that of India’s clash with Pakistan as the Men in Blue saw off Mashrafe Mortaza’s men for 173 runs.

Rohit Sharma (83 runs) and Shikhar Dhawan started on a strong note, but the latter was dismissed for 40 runs by Shakib Al Hasan. However, that did not stop Rohit from scoring his 36th ODI fifty and leading his team to victory.

MS Dhoni, too, played his part, contributing 33 runs in the match. However, Dhoni departed with India at 170-3, but that was too late for Bangladesh as Rohit and Dinesh Karthik ensured that India would cross the finish line. 

Earlier, Ravindra Jadeja had taken four wickets in his comeback ODI while Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah had taken three wickets each.

India will next take on arch-rivals Pakistan once again, this time in the Super Four stage. 

India 170-3 after 35.3 overs

WICKET! MS Dhoni is dismissed for 33 runs just before India could seal the victory.

India 104-1 after 22.4 overs

FIFTY! It's half-century number 36 for Rohit Sharma in ODI's as he gets to the milestone with a six.

India 61-1 after 14.2 overs

WICKET! Shikhar Dhawan is struck lbw by Shakib Al Hasan for 40 runs as Bangladesh get the crucial breakthrough.

Bangladesh innings

India continued their impressive performance with the ball as they saw off Bangladesh for 173 runs in their Super Four encounter of the Asia Cup here on Friday.

Comeback man Ravindra Jadeja was the star for the Men in Blue having taken four wickets.

Nothing was going their way for Bangladesh, but later on it was captain Mashrafe Mortaza and Mehidy Hasan who put up a 66-run partnership for the eighth wicket.

Mahmudullah (25 runs) and Mushfiqur Rahim (21) showed some fightback but the Indian bowlers were too strong for them. 

India got the breakthrough once again when Bumrah saw off Mehidy Hasan for 42 runs.

Bumrah was once again the wicket-taker as he dismissed Mustafizur Rahman for three runs, finally wrapping up the innings.

Both Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar finished with three wickets each.

Bangladesh 169-9 after 47.2 overs

WICKET! Bumrah gets his second wicket as Mehidy Hasan is dismissed for 42 runs courtesy a catch by Shikhar Dhawan at deep-mid wicket.

Bangladesh 167-8 after 46.3 overs

WICKET! India finally break the partnership as Bhuvneshwar sees off Mortaza for 26 runs.

Bangladesh 101-7 after 33.2 overs

WICKET! Jadeja just cannot stop taking wickets as he dismisses Mosaddek Hossain for 12 runs. Is it all over for Bangladesh?

Bangladesh 101-6 after 32.5 overs

WICKET! Mahmudullah is struck lbw by Bhuvneshwar Kumar as he is dismissed for 25 runs. Clearly, the Bangla batsman is not happy as they do not have any DRS left. A huge roar in the crowd after this wicket.

Bangladesh 65-5 after 18 overs

WICKET! Jadeja is on fire as he sees off Mushfiqur Rahim for 21 runs, thereby getting his third wicket.

Bangladesh 60-4 after 15.4 overs

WICKET! Jadeja strikes again, removes Mohammad Mithun for 9 runs

Bangladesh 42-3 after 9.4 overs

WICKET! Ravindra Jadeja gets a wicket in his return to ODI cricket as he dismisses Shakib Al Hasan for 17 runs.

Bangladesh 16-2 after 5.1 overs

WICKET! Bumrah sees off Nazmul Hossain as Dhawan takes a catch at first slip. Joy for India, another loss for Bangladesh.

Bangladesh 15-1 after 4.3 overs

WICKET! Bhuvneshwar Kumar strikes cas he sees off Liton Das for seven runs. India draw first blood.


India will look to maintain its unbeaten run in the 2018 Asia Cup when they take on Bangladesh in their first Super Four encounter here on Friday.

After struggling their way to victory against Hong Kong in their first group encounter, Rohit Sharma’s men eased to an eight-wicket win against arch-rivals Pakistan, whom they will face once again on Sunday in their next Super Four encounter.

Bangladesh, meanwhile, is coming on the back of a 136-run defeat against Afghanistan as Rashid Khan had a memorable 20th birthday.

India will be missing the services of Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel and Shardul Thakur, who were ruled out with injuries.

However, they were replaced by Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar and Siddhart Kaul in the squad.

If Jadeja does play in their game against Bangladesh, it will be his first ODI since India’s encounter against West Indies in the Caribbean last year.


India: Rohit Sharma(Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar,  Kuldeep Yadav,  Deepak Chahar, Siddarth Kaul, K Khaleel Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah.

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza(Captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal,  Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque.


The match is scheduled to start at 5 P.M. IST.

Live streaming:

The live streaming of the India-Bangladesh clash will be available on or on the Hotstar app.

Live telecast:

The live telecast of the match will be available across various Star Sports channels.



More From Cricket