Sports Cricket 20 Feb 2016 Watch: Oman adopts c ...

Watch: Oman adopts cowardly Mankad dismissal for a win

DECCAN CHRONICLE
Published Feb 20, 2016, 6:31 pm IST
Updated Feb 20, 2016, 6:31 pm IST
In a repeat of the ICC U-19 World Cup dismissal, Oman's Aamir Kaleem ran out Hong Kong's Mark Chapman.
In the Asia Cup qualifier match between Oman and Hong Kong, Oman spin-bowler Aamir Kaleem made his way forward to bowl a delivery but as soon as he was about to release the ball, Kaleem stopped and ran the non-striker Mark Chapman out. (Photo: Screengrab)
 In the Asia Cup qualifier match between Oman and Hong Kong, Oman spin-bowler Aamir Kaleem made his way forward to bowl a delivery but as soon as he was about to release the ball, Kaleem stopped and ran the non-striker Mark Chapman out. (Photo: Screengrab)

Dhaka: The ‘Mankad’ dismissal has come back to haunt cricket again. After the dismissal was used recently in the U-19 World Cup by West Indies during their match against Zimbabwe, another team has used the cowardly dismissal but this time at the senior level.

In the Asia Cup qualifier match between Oman and Hong Kong, Oman spin-bowler Aamir Kaleem made his way forward to bowl a delivery but as soon as he was about to release the ball, Kaleem stopped and ran the non-striker Mark Chapman out. Champan is a key batsman for Hong Kong and was dismissed for 8 in their chase of 181. Hong Kong fell five runs short and lost the match.

 

Hong Kong were good at a good run-rate with the chase. Babar Hayat scored 122 off 60 balls but that didn’t prove enough.

Later Kaleem defended his actions which many labelled as going against the spirit of the game even if it is within the rules.

"No, I didn’t (warn Chapman),” he said.

As a batsman, if I am a non-striker, I know if I leave the crease before the delivery, bowler can do the same thing. I had just noticed two or three times that both batsmen – Babar was also doing it – so I just thought if they did the same thing, I would do this,” he was quoted by ESPNCricinfo.

 

 

We have all seen it happen in the Under-19 World Cup so it is not a wrong thing. It is under the rules. If the batsman goes before the ball has been released, any bowler can do this. So I did this.”

This was his first ‘Mankad’ either.

Five or six months ago, when we were in Nepal playing against Malaysia, their batsman was also doing the same thing. Our coaches have told us if they are doing the same thing (and backing up prematurely), go ahead and run the batsman out.”

Hong Kong coach Simon Cook called it a ‘cowardly act’. “Yes it’s in the laws but I think it goes against the spirit of the game when you’re not at least giving a warning,” Cook said.

 

Ultimately it’s a cowardly way out really, if you’re battling against one another, man against man, out in the middle and you choose to go down that route to get a wicket and win the game, it’s not really in the spirit of cricket.”

 

The law 42.15 although does back Kaleem’s claims. The bowler is permitted, before releasing the ball and provided he has not completed his usual delivery swing, to deliberately attempt to run out the non-striker. Whether the attempt is successful or not, the ball shall not count as one of the over.  If the bowler fails in an attempt to run out the non-striker, the umpire shall call and signal Dead ball as soon possible.”

 

...
Location: Bangladesh, Dhaka, Dhaka




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
-->