Sports Cricket 17 Jul 2018 England vs India 3rd ...

England vs India 3rd ODI: Joe Root, Eoin Morgan star as hosts clinch series

Published Jul 17, 2018, 4:13 pm IST
Updated Jul 18, 2018, 12:29 am IST
Eoin Morgan in action against India. (Photo: AP)
 Eoin Morgan in action against India. (Photo: AP)

Leeds: Captain Eoin Morgan (88 runs) and Joe Root (100) were the stars for England as they beat India by eight wickets in the third ODI here to clinch the series 2-1.

The hosts got off to a strong start in their run-chase of 257, but soon lost Jonny Bairstow for 30 runs.

Following this, James Vince and Joe Root put up a 29-run stand after which the former departed.

However, since then it was all about England’s batsmen overcoming the Indian spinners’ threat, as both Root and Morgan ensured that the hosts would go home with the trophy.

During the latter part of the run-chase, Root received a lifeline when Dhoni had stumped him and could have been out, but soon the umpires found out that Yuzvendra Chahal had bowled a no-ball, which proved to be costly.

With the series done and dusted, the teams now head for a two-week break before the Test series kick-off on August 1.

England 147-2 after 24.1 overs

FIFTY! Joe Root gets to his 29th ODI fifty in style. Will he lead the hosts to a series win with captain Morgan on the other side? 

England 74-2 after 9.1 overs

WICKET! James Vince becomes an unlucky victim of a run-out created by Dhoni, as he just misses out on safety. He is dismissed for 27 runs.

England 43-1 after 4.4 overs

WICKET! A soft dismissal as Shardul Thakur removes Jonny Bairstow, courtesy a catch by Suresh Raina. 

India innings

Captain Virat Kohli (71 runs) led from the front as India finished at 256-8 in the third ODI against England here on Tuesday. After losing Rohit Sharma for two runs early on, Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan (44) put up a 71-run stand after which the latter was dismissed.

While Dinesh Karthik contributed 21 runs, MS Dhoni once again played a slow-paced innings, after he scored 42 runs off 66 balls.

However, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (21 runs) and Shardul Thakur (22 runs) gave the Men in Blue the finish they would have wanted as the duo put up a 35-run stand.

David Willey and Adil Rashid finished with three wickets, whereas Mark Wood also earned a wicket.

India 221-7 after 45.5 overs

WICKET! David Willey removes MS Dhoni for 42 runs as Jos Buttler takes a catch to complete the dismissal. 

India 194-6 after 38.2 overs

EDGED AND CAUGHT! Mark Wood joins the party as Hardik Pandya is caught by wicketkeeper Jos Buttler for 21 runs. 

India 158-5 after 31 overs

WICKET! Adil Rashid is on a roll here, as he just dismisses Suresh Raina for one run. 

India 156-4 after 30.1 overs

WICKET! 'You miss I hit' again for Adil Rashid as he dismisses big fish Virat Kohli for 71 runs. 

India 125-3 after 24.2 overs

WICKET! Adil Rashid has a 'you miss I hit' moment as Dinesh Karthik is clean bowled for 21 runs. 

India 119-2 after 23.4 overs

FIFTY! Virat Kohli gets to his 48th ODI fifty as visitors continue to dominate despite the dismissals of Rohit and Dhawan. 

India 84-2 after 17.4 overs

WICKET! Shikhar Dhawan narrowly misses out on safety as he is run-out by Ben Stokes for 44 runs. 

India 67-1 after 15 overs

The partnership between Kohli and Dhawan is now 54 runs. Can the Men in Blue maintain this run? 

India 13-1 from 5.4 overs

WICKET! David Willey removes Rohit Sharma for just two runs as Mark Wood takes a catch at deep square leg. 


England have won the toss and will bowl first. 

Bhuvneshwar Kumar comes back into the side as Umesh Yadav misses out. Another change for India is that Dinesh Karthik comes in for KL Rahul. 

England have gone in with just one change, bringing in James Vince for Jason Roy. 

Here are the final teams: 


It will be all to play for when Eoin Morgan’s England take on Virat Kohli-led India in the third and final ODI at Headingley here on Tuesday.

The ODI series is level at 1-1 after an all-round hosts outplayed India by 86 runs. Having set a target of 323 for India, thanks to a century by Joe Root, MS Dhoni was heavily criticized for his 59-ball 37 which consisted of just two fours and no sixes. Suresh Raina (46 runs), Virat Kohli (45) and Shikhar Dhawan all put up a fighting effort, but went in vain.

The recently-concluded T20I series witnessed a similar result, which ended in 2-1 in favour of the visitors.

The main threat for the hosts will be Kuldeep Yadav, who has looked impressive with nine wickets so far. He comes to the match being the leading wicket-taker in the ODI series.

Following the ODI decider, the teams head for a two-week break after which they return on August 1 to play the first of the five Tests.


England:  Eoin Morgan(Captain), Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, David Willey Adil Rashid, Mark Wood, Jake Ball, James Vince, , Liam Plunkett.

India: Virat Kohli(Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep YadavHardik Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav,  , Suresh Raina, Axar Patel, , Shardul Thakur.


The match is scheduled to start at 5 PM IST.

Live telecast and live streaming:

The match will be broadcast on SonySIX, SonySIX HD, Sony Ten 3 SD and HD. The live streaming of the match will be available on or the SonyLiv app.



More From Cricket