Sports Cricket 16 Nov 2017 IND vs SL,1st Test: ...

IND vs SL,1st Test: Play called off on Day 1 due to bad light

Published Nov 16, 2017, 9:04 am IST
Updated Nov 16, 2017, 4:42 pm IST
Score after 11.5 overs: IND 17-3 Pujara 8(38),Rahane 0(5); Lakmal 6-5-0-3.
Suranga Lakmal got the crucial breakthrough.(Photo:BCCI)
 Suranga Lakmal got the crucial breakthrough.(Photo:BCCI)

Kolkata: Day 1 of the first Test match between India and Sri Lanka was called off due to bad light, with India having finished at 17-3. The start was delayed, as rain had halted play for more than three hours.

The toss took place after lunch, and Sri Lanka decided to bowl after winning it. The visitors got off to a great start, with Suranga Lakmal having taken all the three wickets. Kl Rahul was the first one to depart, falling to the hands of Niroshan Dickwella in the very first ball of the match.


Dhawan was the next to depart, who was followed by Virat Kohli, who had a forgettable innings.

Poor light later in the day meant that the play was abandoned for the day, with Team India needing to make a comeback.

India innings

India 17-3 from 10.1 overs

WICKET! Lakmal is having a good match so far, as he has got his third wicket, removing captain Virat Kohli. Huge blow for Team India

India 13-2 from 6.2 overs

WICKET! Lakmal is at it again, as he removes Shikhar Dhawan. He has not conceded a single run so far.

India 0-1 from 1 over


WICKET! KL Rahul has departed for a golden duck, as Suranga Lakmal provides the visitors a crucial breakthrough.

Toss update:

Sri Lanka have won the toss, and will bowl first

Here are the playing XI for the match:

Toss update:

GOOD NEWS! The toss will be taking place soon.


The covers are off. However, another inspection is expected to happen at 12.45 pm.


Lunch has been taken on Day 1 of the first Test, as rain continues to delay the start of game.


Rain update:

Kolkata: The first Test match between India and Sri Lanka at Eden Gardens in Kolkata has been delayed due to rain.


After a hard-fought win over New Zealand in the recently concluded ODI and T20 series, Virat Kohli and co now turn their attention on the first test against Sri Lanka at Eden Gardens on Thursday. 

Team India will look to continue their winning momentum, while Dinesh Chandimal led side will look to win their first test on India soil.


Rain has been a major factor before the start of the match. On Wednesday Team India practice session in the morning was cancelled out following a short spell of shower.

The Metrological department has suggested that showers may continue till November 18th – Day 2 of the 1st Test – due to the influence of a well-marked low-pressure area set to move up along the Bay of Bengal situated along the Indian coast.


Sri Lanka come into to series  after beating Pakistan in three match test series  in UAE . The islanders have tough ask in their hands as they need to put up a strong performance against a team that is ranked No1 in this format.

For Team India Murali Vijay, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have returned to the Test side, while all-rounder Hardik Pandya was rested to manage his workload.


For Sri Lanka Angelo Mathews experience will be of great value in Indian conditions. Sri Lanka skipper Dinesh Chandimal  confirmed on Wednesday that Mathews will bat at No 4 to bring some solidity to the middle order .

Dimuth Karunaratne will look to carry on his fantastic form against India from the last series , while Lahiru Thirimanne and the dashing wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella will be key to the batting lineup.

The bowling department will belead by Rangana herath who will be supported by pacers  Suranga Lakmal,Vishwa Fernando and Lahiru Gamage.



India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvenshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma.

Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (Captain), Lahiru Thirimanne (vice-captain), Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper), Dilruwan Perera, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Gamage, Dhananjaya de Silva, Angelo Mathews, Lakshan Sandakan, Vishwa Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Roshen Silva.