Adelaide: Veteran wicketkeeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni steered India to a six-wicket victory over Australia in the second one-day international to level the series in Adelaide on Tuesday.
Former skipper Dhoni, playing in his 334th ODI, guided India across the line with four balls to spare to back up a dazzling century from captain Virat Kohli.
Dhoni was physically struggling in the hot conditions and needed treatment from the team physio to finish his match-winning knock and keep India alive in the series.
However, in an incident that has gone unnoticed by the umpires, Dhoni was seen to have taken a short run as the on-field umpire was seen handing Nathan Lyon’s cap following the completion of the over.
A video of the same has gone viral on social media.
Did anyone notice that dhoni actually didn’t complete the run here? pic.twitter.com/F9KjKiFILc— neich (@neicho32) January 15, 2019
According to the International Cricket Council (ICC) rulebook, however, a team could be handed five penalty runs if the batsman did not deliberately complete the run.
“If either umpire considers that one or both batsmen deliberately ran short at that umpire's end, the umpire concerned shall, when the ball is dead, call and signal Short run and inform the other umpire of what has occurred and apply 18.5.2", states the rulebook.
The action now shifts to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on Friday as the teams get set to face-off in the third and final ODI....