Sports Cricket 15 Apr 2018 IPL 2018, KXIP vs CS ...

IPL 2018, KXIP vs CSK: MS Dhoni's efforts in vain as Chennai suffer first defeat

Published Apr 15, 2018, 6:53 pm IST
Updated Apr 15, 2018, 11:52 pm IST
Score after 20 overs, Chennai Super Kings 193-5: Dhoni 79(44), Dwayne Bravo 1(1); Mohit Sharma 4-0-47-1
The hosts set a target of 198 to chase and it proved to be too much for the two-time winners. (Photo: BCCI)
 The hosts set a target of 198 to chase and it proved to be too much for the two-time winners. (Photo: BCCI)

Mohali: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) suffered the first defeat of their 2018 Indian Premier League (IPL) campaign after Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) clinched a 58 run victory at the PCA IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on Sunday.

The hosts set a target of 198 to chase and it proved to be too much for the two-time winners.


KXIP started strong by dismissing both openers Shane Watson and Murali Vijay and just when the men in yellow started absorbing the pressure, Ashwin struck with the precious wicket of Sam Billings.

MS Dhoni and Ambati Rayudu stiched a 57-run stand for the 4th wicket, but the opposition bowlers did not leak away too many runs.

Rayudu fell short of his half-century by one run after falling victim to Ashwin via a run-out.

MS Dhoni kept the faith alive with a gritty knock in the death overs, however, KXIP held their nerves to pick up their second win of the season.


CSK 181-5 after 19 overs:

CAUGHT! Tye claims his second wicket. Outside off and Jadeja slashes hard, mistiming his shot that goes high up in the air. Finds R Ashwin at cover.

CSK 113-4 after 14 overs:

RUN OUT! And Rayudu has to return back to the pavilion one run short of a fifty. Fullish delivery by Sran punched towards cover. There's miscommunication with Dhoni at the other end and before Rayudu can make it back safe, Ashwin hits the bulls eye!


CSK 58-3 after 7 overs:

WICKET! Ashwin gets the big fish and it's come after a hard fought review. Billings shuffles across, trying to attempt a sweep off a quicker delivery by the bowler. DRS review show ball pitching in line and crashing into off stump. Massive blow for the visitors.

CSK 46-2 after 5 overs:

WICKET! Tye strikes with the wicket of Vijay. Knuckle ball and the batsman tries to clobber it over long off. Mistimes his shot and finds Barinder Sran at mid-off.

CSK 17-1 after 2 overs:

WICKET! Mohit bowls a loose delivery down leg and Watson miscues his flick. Barinder Sran at short fine leg collects the catch safely.


1st innings: Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) posted 197-7 on board after being put to bat by Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at the PCA IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on Sunday.

The hosts got off to a flyer as KL Rahul and Chris Gayle fired at the top. But just before the duo could strike a 100-run partnership, Harbhajan Singh dismissed the Karnataka batsman.

Shane Watson provided more hope for CSK with the wicket of Chris Gayler later on and the pressure fell on Mayank Agarwal and Yuvraj Singh.

Moments later, Imran Tahir struck with double blows of Aaron Finch and Mayank Agarwal to pile the pressure.


When all hope was lost, Karun Nair chipped with an influential cameo to help KXIP set a comprehensive target.

KXIP 197-7 after 20 overs:

WICKET! Bravo outfoxes Nair with a slower delivery. Finishes the over giving away only four runs.

KXIP 193-6 after 19 overs:

WICKET! Short ball by Thakur, Ashwin steps back and goes for the pull. Gets a top edge that is collected by Dhoni.


KXIP 160-5 after 16 overs:

WICKET! Cross seamer, into the batsman. Yuvraj aims to guide it over the keeper's head but only manages to get a nick that is collected by MS Dhoni.

KXIP 154-4 after 15 overs:

LBW! Tahir is on a hat-trick. Googly and Finch fails to read it as he is trapped ahead of the stumps. Umpire raises his finger.

WICKET! Tahir strikes. Agarwal's fine cameo comes to an end. Aims to go big down the ground but doesn't connect well. Finds Jadeja at long on.

KXIP 129-2 after 12 overs:

WICKET! Big sigh of relief for CSK. Banged in short, Gayle look to guide it down fine leg but finds the man at short fine leg.


KXIP 96-1 after 8 overs:

WICKET! Harbhajan strikes and Rahul will be disappointed to throw his wicket away. Full toss outside off and the batsman chips it straight to Bravo at cover.

Preview: High on confidence, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will aim to continue their winning run when they face with Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at the PCA IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on Sunday.


A victory against Ravichandran Ashwin and co will take the two-time winners on top of the IPL table and they wouldn’t want to miss out on that opportunity with two back to back wins.

The Lions, meanwhile, have endured a loss and a win under the new skipper and former CSK all-rounder Ashwin. They will need a much more bolstering performance from their batting line-up if they are to break CSK’s duck.

KL Rahul has been firing at the top but apart from that, the batsmen have failed to get going.

MS Dhoni has got his team combination spot on but injuries to the likes of Kedar Jadhav and Suresh Raina is a big concern.


Can Ashwin outfox one of India’s most successful captains or will Dhoni come out on top against his former CSK teammate?


CSK have won the toss and elect to field.


Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (c), Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Faf du Plessis, Harbhajan Singh, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Kanishk Seth, Lungi Ngidi, Dhruv Shorey, Murali Vijay, Sam Billings, Mark Wood, Kshitiz Sharma, Monu Kumar, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Imran Tahir, Karn Sharma, Shardul Thakur, N Jagadeesan, David Willey.


Kings XI Punjab: Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Yuvraj Singh, Karun Nair, Lokesh Rahul, Chris Gayle, David Miller, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Mayank Agarwal, Ankit Rajpoot, Manoj Tiwary, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Barinder Sran, Andrew Tye, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar

When is the match?

The match is scheduled to start at 8 pm IST on Sunday (April 15)

Where is the match?

The match will take place at PCA IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali

Live telecast and timings:

With Star India now acquiring the media rights from Sony Pictures Network India for the upcoming season, the matches will be telecast on various Star Sports channels.


Live streaming:

The matches can be viewed live on or on the Hotstar app.


Location: India, Punjab