Mumbai: It is the jurisdiction of the bowler end umpire to call or revoke the no ball, the MCC (Marylebone Cricket Club), the Custodian of Laws of cricket, has said.
"Law 41.7.1, which states: Any delivery, which passes or would have passed, without pitching, above waist height of the striker standing upright at the popping crease, is unfair. Whenever such a delivery is bowled, the umpire shall call and signal No ball.
The thing to note here is that this Law says ‘the umpire’. As defined in Appendix A5.1, this means ‘the bowler’s end umpire’. It is thus the responsibility of the bowler’s end umpire to call a No ball under Law 41.7", Fraser Stewart, the Cricket Academy Manager, speaking exclusively from Lord's, said.
"In several places the umpires are encouraged, and indeed compelled, to consult with one another".
This is further explained in Tom Smith’s Cricket Umpiring and Scoring, MCC’s interpretations of the Laws of Cricket, which adds:
Consulting is not weakness on the part of an umpire; it is essential to ensure that decisions are made only on the most accurate and complete evidence available.
It is sometimes assumed that there are some matters that umpires can consult on, and others which they may not. This is not the case – if a colleague is in a better position to see, on any decision, consultation is encouraged on any point of fact.
Fraser Stewart was responding to the incident where Dhoni took on the umpires (CSK vs. Rajasthan Royals match in Jaipur).
"An umpire may alter any decision provided that such alteration is made promptly (Law 2.12). This apart, an umpire’s decision, once made, is final.
Promptly, in this case, usually means before the ball next becomes live. The actions of the umpires in this case therefore clearly comply with this Law", he concluded....