Sports Cricket 13 May 2017 IPL 2017: Sunrisers ...

IPL 2017: Sunrisers Hyderabad seal playoff berth, beat Gujarat Lions by 8 wickets

Published May 13, 2017, 3:17 pm IST
Updated May 13, 2017, 7:50 pm IST
Gujarat Lions squandered a 111-run opening stand to bundle out for 154.
David Warner led from the front as Sunrisers Hyderabad secured a place in the playoffs. (Photo: PTI)
 David Warner led from the front as Sunrisers Hyderabad secured a place in the playoffs. (Photo: PTI)

Kanpur: Sunrisers Hyderabad secured their place in the playoffs and kept alive their hopes of defending their IPL title as they defeated Gujarat Lions by wickets here on Saturday.

While Gujarat Lions openers Ishan Kishan (61) and Dwayne Smith (54) had laid a solid foundation for GL to put up a huge total on the board, SRH bowlers came to the party as GL lost 10 wickets for 43 runs after 111-run opening stand to be bundled out for 154.


Mohammad Siraj (4/32) and Rashid Khan (3/34) starred with the ball before David Warner and Vijay Shankar scored unbeaten half-centuries to complete SRH’s win at the Green Park Stadium.

Sunrisers Hyderabad 158/2 from 18.1 overs:

That's it! Sunrisers Hyderabad have sealed their spot in IPL 2017 playoffs as they beat Gujarat Lions by 8 wickets. Warner and Vijay Shankar remain unbeaten in what was a comfortable chase.

Sunrisers Hyderabad 135/2 from 16 overs:

Warner and Vijay Shankar have brought up their fifties as Sunrisers Hyderabad move closer to secure a place in the IPL playoffs.


Sunrisers Hyderabad 102/2 from 12 overs:

David Warner and Vijay Shankar have steadied the ship for SRH after losing Dhawan and Henriques early. The duo has completed 50-run stand and will be crucial as SRH look to secure a place in the playoffs.

Sunrisers Hyderabad 25/2 from 3 overs:

WICKETS! Praveen Kumar scalps 2 in his second over as he removes Shikhar Dhawana and Moises Henriques. 

Gujarat Lions 154 all out 19.2 overs:

ALL OUT! Bhuvi has 2 in 2 as he dismisses Praveen Kumar and Munaf Patel to end Gujarat Lions' innings. From 111/0 to 154 all out, Gujarat Lions have squandered a big chance to put up a huge total on board.


Gujarat Lions 154/8 from 19 overs:

WICKET! Siddarth Kaul is among the wickets as he sends Ankit Soni packing.

Gujarat Lions 142/7 from 17 overs:

WICKETS! Mohammad Siraj scalps 2 in 2 but won't get a chance to bowl a hat-trick ball as his four-over spell comes to an end. He disturbs the timber on both the occasions as he dismisses James Faulkner and Pradeep Sangwan. The Hyderabad bowler got 4 wickets as he and Rashid Khan derailed the GL innings.

Gujarat Lions 123/5 from 14 overs:

WICKETS! Gujarat Lions have lost the plot. From 120/1 to 123/5. After Siraj's 2-wicket over, Rashid Khan joins the party. First, Dinesh Karthik gets out on a full toss and then Aaron Finch perishes as Rashid disturbs the timber.


Gujarat Lions 120/3 from 13 overs:

WICKETS! 3 wickets in quick succession and two for Mohammad Siraj in an over. First, his slower delivery did the trick as Ishan Kishan mistimed one and Suresh Raina followed him to the dressing room in the same over after being holed out in the deep.

Gujarat Lions 111/1 from 11 overs:

WICKET! SRH finally breaks through as Rashid Khan traps Dwayne Smith before the wickets. The West Indian though has scored a fifty as he and Ishan Kishan have laid a solid foundation from where GL must go past 200-run mark.


Gujarat Lions 61/0 from 6 overs:

Ishan Kishan and Dwayne Smith have made the most of the powerplay as Gujarat Lions are off to a flying start. The duo has targeted spinners and pacers as GL score 61 runs in the first six overs.

Kanpur: In what could be a do-or-die encounter, Sunrisers Hyderabad have won the toss and elected to field against Suresh Raina-led Gujarat Lions here on Saturday.

Yuvraj Singh, who sustained an injury in SRH's last game against Mumbai Indians, is yet to recover from the injury and is replaced by Deepak Hooda. GL, meanwhile, have made two changes to their playing XI as Praveen Kumar and Munaf Patel come in place of Basil Thampi and Dhawal Kulkarni.



While Gujarat Lions will be eager to play party poppers, defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad will need nothing but a win to seal playoff’s berth as the two sides face eachother here on Saturday.

The David Warner-led side started their IPL 2017 campaign on a bang. However, defeats in the latter stages of the tournament have made things really tricky for them. While Sunrisers sealed a seven-wicket win against Mumbai Indians in their last match, they will need to come up with another ace performance as they take on Suresh Raina-led side at the Green Park Stadium.


SRH will bank on their tried and tested performers – Orange Cap holder David Warner, Shikhar Dhawan, Yuvraj Singh, Moises Henriques, Purple Cap holder Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Rashid Khan – as they aim to seal their 8th win in the tenth edition of the Indian Premier League.

If SRH lose this game, then they will have to pin their hopes on Rising Pune Supergiant versus Kings XI Punjab where KXIP’s defeat will help SRH to enter the top four.


Gujarat Lions: Suresh Raina (Captain), Akshadeep Nath, Basil Thampi, Shubham Agarwal, Dwayne Smith, Chirag Suri, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Manpreet Gony, Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Dhaval Kulkarni, Praveen Kumar, Brandon McCullum, Pradeep Sangwan, Jason Roy, Jaydev Shah, Shelly Shaurya, Tejas Baroka.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (Captain), Tanmay Agarwal, Ricky Bhui, Bipul Sharma, Ben Cutting, Shikhar Dhawan, Eklavya Dwivedi, Moises Henriques, Deepak Hooda, Chris Jordan, Siddharth Kaul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ben Laughlin, Abhimanyu Mithun, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammed Siraj, Mustafizur Rahman, Ashish Nehra, Naman Ojha (wicketkeeper), Rashid Khan, Vijay Shankar, Barinder Sran, Pravin Tambe, Kane Williamson, Yuvraj Singh.

Location: India, Uttar Pradesh, Kanpur