Sports Cricket 11 Nov 2018 Ind vs WI 3rd T20: S ...

Ind vs WI 3rd T20: Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant star in India's thrilling finish

Published Nov 11, 2018, 6:10 pm IST
Updated Nov 11, 2018, 10:39 pm IST
Score after 20 overs, India 182-4, Manish Pandey 4*; Keemo Paul 2/32, Oshane Thomas 1/43.
Shikhar Dhawan got to his eighth T20I fifty, taking just 36 balls to do so. (Photo: AP)
 Shikhar Dhawan got to his eighth T20I fifty, taking just 36 balls to do so. (Photo: AP)

Chennai: Shikhar Dhawan (92) and Rishabh Pant (58) guided hosts India to a six-wicket win against West Indies in the third T20I here to complete the clean sweep of the series 3-0.

Chasing a target of 182, the hosts lost captain Rohit Sharma (4) early. KL Rahul, too, had a short stay at the crease scoring 17 runs off 10 balls.

However, Dhawan and Pant made it look easy for the hosts, with the latter notching up his maiden T20I fifty.

While Pant was dismissed for 58 by Keemo Paul in the 19th over, tension surrounded the Chepauk stadium with Dhawan being seen off for 92 in the final over, with just one more run to get from the last ball.

Despite this, Manish Pandey was quick to run between the wickets as he ran for the one run which the hosts needed, thereby ending their home season on a high.

India 102-2 after 12 overs

FIFTY! Shikhar Dhawan gets to his eight T20I fifty as he takes just 36 balls to reach there.

India 45-2 after 5.2 overs

WICKET! KL Rahul departs for 17 as Oshane Thomas strikes.

India 13-1 after 2.2 overs

WICKET! Rohit Sharma dismissed for 4 as Carlos Brathwaite takes a catch at mid-off courtesy a Keemo Paul wicket.

West Indies innings

West Indies put up a fighting effort on Sunday to post a total of 181-3 in the third and final T20 against India here.

The visitors got off to a good start, with Shai Hope (24) and Shimron Hetmyer (26) putting up 51 runs for the first wicket.

However, Yuzvendra Chahal removed both the openers as India came back on track.

Washington Sundar, who returned to the playing XI for the first time since March, also picked up the wicket of Denesh Ramdin (15). Despite this, the Caribbean side responded well with Darren Bravo (43 not out) and Nicholas Pooran (53 not out) putting up an 87-run partnership.

West Indies 94-3 after 12.5 overs

BOWLED 'EM! Washington Sundar sees off Denesh Ramdin in style

West Indies 62-2 after 9 overs

WICKET! Chahal does the damage again, sees off Hetmyer for 26 as Krunal Pandya completes the catch.

West Indies 51-1 after 6.1 overs

WICKET! A top edge as Yzvendra Chahal sees off Shai Hope for 24 courtesy a catch by Washington Sundar at deep square leg.

Toss update

West Indies won the toss and decided to bat against India in the dead rubber.

The visitors are going ahead with the same playing eleven.

The hosts have meanwhile got Yuzvendra Chahal and Washington Sundar in place of Kuldeep Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah.


With India claiming the T20I series 2-0, West Indies will look to sign off their tour with a consolation win in the third match here at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chepauk on Sunday.

Even though the hosts had a tough time in winning the first game in Kolkata, Rohit Sharma’s fourth T20I century ensured that they would ease to a comfortable 71-run win in the second match at Lucknow.

And with the Australia tour kicking off on November 21 with the first of three T20Is, the Men in Blue will treat this as a final dress rehearsal before they embark on the long journey.

Virat Kohli may have been rested for the current series, but stand-in skipper Rohit has been in fine form.

After having notched up two centuries and a half-century in the ODIs against the Caribbean side, the Mumbai cricketer followed that up with his fourth ton in the shortest format during the previous game.

The major worry for the visitors will be their top-order batting.

The duo of Shai Hope and Shimron Hetmyer h ave not been in top form that they were during the ODIs and that remains a concern for them.


India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddarth Kaul.

West Indies: Carlos Brathwaite (Captain), Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Obede McCoy, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Sherfane Rutherford, Oshane Thomas.


The match is scheduled to start at 7 P.M. IST.

Live streaming:

The live streaming of the third and final India versus West Indies T20I will be available on and Hotstar app.

Live telecast:

The live telecast of the match will be available across a number of Star Sports channels