The Indian Premier League 2020

Sports Cricket 10 May 2018 IPL 2018, KKR vs MI: ...

IPL 2018, KKR vs MI: Michael Clarke, Twitter lash out at umpire over wrong no-ball

DECCAN CHRONICLE.
Published May 10, 2018, 10:49 am IST
Updated May 10, 2018, 11:16 am IST
Horrible umpiring on this occasion and with all the technology in our game these days it should be overturned, said Michael Clarke.
On the fifth ball of the 16th over of MI’s innings, umpire KN Ananthapadmanabhan called a Tom Curran delivery a no-ball for overstepping. However, subsequent replays showed that Curran’s foot had landed well within the lines, making it clear that the delivery was not a ‘no-ball’. (Photo: Screengrab)
 On the fifth ball of the 16th over of MI’s innings, umpire KN Ananthapadmanabhan called a Tom Curran delivery a no-ball for overstepping. However, subsequent replays showed that Curran’s foot had landed well within the lines, making it clear that the delivery was not a ‘no-ball’. (Photo: Screengrab)

Kolkata: Mumbai Indians (MI), on Wednesday, hammered Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the Eden Gardens to jump to the fourth place in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 points table. While KKR’s performance was a cause of concern for their fans, what also irked the Twitterati, commentators and cricketers was a “disgrace” of an umpiring call.

On the fifth ball of the 16th over of MI’s innings, umpire KN Ananthapadmanabhan called a Tom Curran delivery to Rohit Sharma a no-ball for overstepping. However, subsequent replays showed that Curran’s foot had landed well within the lines, making it clear that the delivery was not a ‘no-ball’.

 

While KKR skipper Dinesh Karthik and Curran asked the umpires whether the decision can be overturned, the decision stayed and MI received a free-hit. Although Hardik Pandya, who faced the free-hit delivery, could only score a run off it, the decision did not please many.

The ‘no-ball’ that was not did not go down too well with former Australian skipper-turned-commentator Michael Clarke. He did not mince any words as he lashed out at the glaring error on Twitter, terming it a “disgrace” and “terrible call”.

Twitter users, including the official KKR team  handle, were not too pleased with the call either as they criticised the umpire’s call.

 

...




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT