Sports Cricket 08 May 2018 IPL 2018, RR vs KXIP ...

IPL 2018, RR vs KXIP: Andrew Tye restricts hosts to 158-8

Published May 8, 2018, 7:14 pm IST
Updated May 8, 2018, 9:43 pm IST
Score after 20 overs, Rajasthan Royals 158-8: Unadkat 0(1), Lomror 9(9); Andrew Tye 4-0-34-4
In their previous encounter on Sunday, KL Rahul and Mujeeb Ur Rahman played match-winning roles to steer their side over the line. (Photo: BCCI)
 In their previous encounter on Sunday, KL Rahul and Mujeeb Ur Rahman played match-winning roles to steer their side over the line. (Photo: BCCI)

Jaipur: Jos Buttler led the way again for Rajasthan Royals as they posted 158-8 on board against Kings XI Punjab at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on Tuesday.

After electing to bat first, Andrew Tye dismissed Ajinkya Rahane early on and soon after Krishnappa Gowtham was sent packing back to the pavilion by Marcus Stoinis.


However from there, Butter and Sanju Samson turned things around for the hosts. The Englishman struck a magnificent 82-run knock, weaving a fifty partnership with the youngster before Mujeeb UR Rahman spun his magic, dismissing the duo.

The Royals later lost Stuart Binny but as the Royals looked like making a comeback into the game, Tye bounced back with three wickets in the final over to restrict the opposition.

RR 158-8 after 20 overs:

TYE FINISHES IN STYLE! Dismissed Unadkat in his final delivery to claim four wickets on the night.


DOUBLE STRIKE FOR TYE! Another knuckle ball, Jofra Archer swings hard and gets a top edge.

WICKET! Full toss outside off by Tye, Stokes isn't able to connect well and hands it straight to Ashwin.

RR 147-5 after 18 overs:

RUN OUT! Smart work from Karun Nair in the deep sees Stuart Binny being run-out. A dive could have saved him!

RR 133-4 after 17 overs:

STUMPED! Smart bowling by Mujeeb. Sees the batsman charging down the track, bowls it short and quick. Easy stumping for Rahul.

RR 120-3 after 15 overs:

WICKET! The partnership is broken thanks to Mujeeb. Tossed up, inviting Samson for the drive. The batsman mistimes his shot that goes straight to long on.


RR 82-2 after 10 overs:

FIFTY FOR BUTTLER! The Englishman has taken the attack to the opposition and has shown intent and determination at the crease.

RR 67-2 after 7 overs:

CAUGHT! Gowtham aims for a biggie, trying to slog Stonis over long on but doesn't connect well. Finds Manoj Tiwary at the boundary rope.

RR 38-1 after 4 overs:


WICKET! Knuckle ball does the trick for Tye as Rahane tries to scoop one over mid-wicket but his early shot gives a leading edge that heads to the man at extra-cover.


In a bid to keep their 2018 Indian Premier League (IPL) playoff hopes alive, Rajasthan Royals (RR) take on Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in a must-win encounter at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on Tuesday.

Ravichandran Ashwin-led KXIP have been ruthless this season and sit on the third spot in the 2018 IPL table as they look to seal a place in the top-four. Meanwhile, the Royal blues are languishing at the bottom and need to win all their remaining contests to stand a chance of qualifying.


In their previous encounter on Sunday, KL Rahul and Mujeeb Ur Rahman played match-winning roles to steer their side over the line. However, Ajinkya Rahane’s men will be aiming to start afresh when they return to their home turf, where they have picked up two of their three victories so far.


The news from the middle is that Rajasthan Royals have won the toss and elected to bat. Three changes for the hosts as Mahipal Lomror, Stuart Binny and Ish Sodhi come in.


Kings XI Punjab: Lokesh Rahul(w), Chris Gayle, Akshdeep Nath, Karun Nair, Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Manoj Tiwary, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler(w), Ajinkya Rahane(c), Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Stuart Binny, Mahipal Lomror, Jofra Archer, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jaydev Unadkat, Ish Sodhi, Anureet Singh



Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane (c), Ben Stokes, Stuart Binny, Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Rahul Tripathi, D Arcy Short, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jofra Archer, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaydev Unadkat, Ankit Sharma, Anureet Singh, Shreyas Gopal, Prashant Chopra, Sudhesan Midhun, Ben Laughlin, Mahipal Lomror, Aryaman Birla, Jatin Saxena, Dushmantha Chameera, Heinrich Klaasen, Ish Sodhi.

Kings XI Punjab: Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Axar Patel, Yuvraj Singh, Karun Nair, Lokesh Rahul, Chris Gayle, David Miller, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Mayank Agarwal, Ankit Rajpoot, Manoj Tiwary, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Barinder Sran, Andrew Tye, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar.


When is the match?

The match is scheduled to start at 8 P.M. IST on Tuesday, May 8th.

Where is the match?

The match will take place at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur.

Live telecast and timings:

With Star India now acquiring the media rights from Sony Pictures Network India for the upcoming season, the matches will be telecast on various Star Sports channels.

Live streaming:

The matches can be viewed live on or on the Hotstar app.

Location: India, Rajasthan, Jaipur