Sports Cricket 08 Apr 2018 IPL 2018, KXIP vs DD ...

IPL 2018, KXIP vs DD: KL Rahul, Karun Nair power hosts to 6-wicket win

Published Apr 8, 2018, 3:40 pm IST
Updated Apr 8, 2018, 7:28 pm IST
Score after 18.5 overs, KXIP 167-4, Marcus Stoinis 22*, David Miller 24*; Chris Morris (1/20); Punjab win by 6 wickets.
KL Rahul scored his fastest ever IPL fifty to help the hosts get off to a strong start. (Photo: BCCI)
 KL Rahul scored his fastest ever IPL fifty to help the hosts get off to a strong start. (Photo: BCCI)

Mohali: KL Rahul (51) and Karun Nair (50) starred in Kings XI Punjab’s six-wicket win over Delhi Daredevils here on Sunday.

Needing 167 to win the match, Rahul and Mayank Agarwal got off to a flying start, with the former bringing up the fastest ever fifty in IPL( off 14 balls).


The Daredevils’ pacers got wickets at regular intervals, but that was not enough to see the visitors through.

Trent Boult, Chris Morris, Dan Christian and Rahul Tewatia got one wicket each in the match.

Kings XI Punjab 138-4 from 15.4 overs

WICKET! Karun Nair departs after scoring a well-played 50. Hosts lose their fourth wicket

Kings XI Punjab 97-3 from 9.2 overs

WICKET! Yuvraj Singh departs, and his IPL 2018 campaign gets off to a disappointing start.

Kings XI Punjab 64-2 from 4.5 overs

WICKET! Trent Boult has got the crucial wicket of KL Rahul, who departs for 51. This is a huge blow for the hosts

Kings XI Punjab 58-1 from 3.2 overs

WICKET! Mayank Agarwal departs for seven runs as Chris Morris strikes for DD.

Kings XI Punjab 52-0 from 2.5 overs

FIFTY! KL Rahul has scored the fastest ever IPL fifty, off just 14 balls. What a start for the hosts. 

Delhi Daredevils innings

Delhi will be happy to finish at 166-6 after the early blow they suffered. Gambhir and Pant steered the innings from there, however, the hosts bounced back to restrict the opposition for a modest total.

DD 166-7 after 20 overs:

WICKET! Christian is bowled by Mohit Sharma off a yorker.

DD 138-6 after 17 overs:

WICKET! Tewatia attempts another reverse sweep, but fails to read Ashwin's delivery. Struck right in front of the stumps.

WICKET! Gambhir's fine knock comes to an end courtesy of a run-out.

DD 118-4 after 14 overs:

WICKET! Pant goes for the slog but miscues his shot, playing against the turn. Andrew Tye comes running from behind and holds on to a stunner at extra cover.

DD 77-3 from 10.1 overs

WICKET! Axar Patel takes a brilliant catch at deep mid-wicket to remove Vijay Shankar as Mohit Sharma celebrates his wicket.

DD 54-2 after 7 overs:

WICKET! Another one. After hitting a six of the previous delivery, Iyer for another big one down the ground. Nicks it a to Rahul behind the stumps.

DD 13-1 after 3 overs:

WICKET! Munro has to make his way back to the pavilion after getting caught out LBW by Mujeeb Zadran.

Preview: A revamped Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) side, led by Ravichandran Ashwin take on Delhi Daredevils in the second match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 on Sunday.

Both sides, who are yet to taste any success so far, will look to start their campaign on a high note. Ashwin will get a taste of captaincy for the first time, while Delhi welcome back Gautam Gambhir, who has plenty of experience under his belt, having lead the Kolkata Kngiht Riders to two titles.

The Preity Zinta co-owned side boasts of star players like Yuvraj Singh, Chris Gayle, David Miller, K L Rahul, Aaron Finch not to forget the likes of Manoj Tiwary, Mohit Sharma, Axar Patel and Mujeeb-ur-Rahman.

Meanwhile, DD have a equal share of youth and experience with players such as Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, Glenn Maxwell, Colin Munro, Shreyas Iyer, Jason Roy and Prithvi Shaw.


KXIP have won the toss and elected to bowl first. Here is how the two teams line-up for today:


Delhi Daredevils: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Sandeep Lamichhane, Manjot Kalra, Glenn Maxwell, Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Chris Morris, Colin Munro, Shahbaz Nadeem, Naman Ojha, Rishabh Pant, Harshal Patel, Jason Roy, Vijay Shankar, Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav, Abhishek Sharma, Avesh Khan, Trent Boult, Daniel Christian, Sayan Ghosh, Gurkeerat Singh Mann.

Kings XI Punjab: Ravichandran Ashwin (captain), Yuvraj Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Mayank Dagar, Aaron Finch, Chris Gayle, Manzoor Dar, David Miller, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karun Nair, Axar Patel, Lokesh Rahul, Marcus Stoinis, Manoj Tiwary, Andrew Tye, Ben Dwarshuis, Ankit Rajpoot, Pardeep Sahu, Mohit Sharma, Barinder Sran, Akshdeep Nath.

When is the match?

The match is scheduled to start at 4 pm IST on Sunday (April 8)

Where is the match?

The match will take place at PCA IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali.

Live telecast and timings:

With Star India now acquiring the media rights from Sony Pictures Network India for the upcoming season, the matches will be telecast on various Star Sports channels.

Live streaming:

The matches can be viewed live on or on the Hotstar app.