Sports Cricket 07 Oct 2021 50 years after winni ...

50 years after winning the first ever ODI, the Australian team bats on

Published Oct 7, 2021, 1:55 pm IST
Updated Oct 7, 2021, 2:15 pm IST
We look at the Australian team that were a part of the winning side of the first ever ODI team
Former Australia skippers Steven Smith (left) and Bill Lawry. (Photo: AFP)
 Former Australia skippers Steven Smith (left) and Bill Lawry. (Photo: AFP)

Hyderabad: Fifty years after chasing down England’s 190 to win the first ever One-Day International played (on January 5, 1971) in Melbourne, the indomitable Australian team continues to bat on. Australia’s entire playing XI are still going strong — captain Bill Lawry is the oldest at 84 while Greg Chappell and Rodney Marsh are the joint youngest at 73.

Ian Chappell


Australia and England were playing a Test series Down Under when the third Test was washed out. Instead, the Australian Cricket Board decided to host a 40-over one-day game — those were the days of eight-ball overs.

Greg Chappell

Australia won the toss and bowled out England for 190 in 36.4 overs. They then rode on Ian Chappell’s 60 in 103 balls to win with five wickets in hand and five overs to spare, much to the delight of the 46,000 in attendance at the massive Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Rodney Marsh

Here’s a look at Australia’s winning team (in the batting order) and their current age as of October 7, 2021:


1. Bill Lawry        84
2. Keith Stackpole    81
3. Ian Chappell        77
4. Doug Walters        75
5. Ian Redpath        75
6. Greg Chappell        73
7. Rodney Marsh        73
8. Ashley Mallet        76
9. Graham McKenzie    79
10. Alan Connolly        82
11. Allan Thompson    75


Location: India, Delhi, New Delhi