68th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra65168280812197 Tamil Nadu2024611313157 Delhi173877846398 Gujarat1635692321007 Rajasthan83654855184 Madhya Pradesh78914444343 Uttar Pradesh77014651213 West Bengal48131775302 Andhra Pradesh3461228960 Bihar3359120915 Karnataka292299749 Telangana2499141277 Jammu and Kashmir234190828 Punjab2197194942 Odisha17239779 Haryana172194019 Kerala120957510 Assam9361044 Uttarakhand493794 Jharkhand4621914 Chhatisgarh4471021 Chandigarh2891994 Tripura2711720 Himachal Pradesh223634 Goa70420 Manipur6060 Puducherry57230 Nagaland3600 Meghalaya27121 Arunachal Pradesh310 Mizoram110 Sikkim100
Sports Cricket 06 Apr 2020 On this day, Austral ...

On this day, Australia lifted their third successive Women's T20 WC

Published Apr 6, 2020, 4:38 pm IST
Updated Apr 6, 2020, 4:38 pm IST
Skipper Meg lanning and Ellyse Perry put a 60-run crucial partnership to ensure that the side lifts the title
Australia skipper Meg Lanning. AFP Photo
 Australia skipper Meg Lanning. AFP Photo

New Delhi: On this day six years back, Australia clinched their third successive Women's T20 World Cup after defeating England by six wickets and 29 balls to spare.

Chasing a below-par target of 106, Aussies openers had a bad start as they lost Jess Jonassen in the third over on 12 runs.


Skipper Meg Lanning joined Elyse Villani in the middle and built a 27-run partnership for the second wicket. the Latter departed after scoring 15 runs.

Ellyse Perry and Lanning put a 60-run crucial partnership to ensure that the side lifts the title at Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

Lanning was the highest scorer from her side as she played a knock of 44 runs off 30 balls. Perry remained unbeaten on 31 runs including three fours and a six.

For England, Natalie Sciver scalped two wickets while Jenny Gunn and Anya Shrubsole picked one wicket each.

Earlier, Australia won the toss and asked England to bat first. The side failed to put runs on the board and was reduced to 105/8 in their 20 overs.

Barring Sarah Taylor (18), Charlotte Edwards (13), Heather Knight (29) and Amy Jones (12), no other batter was able to score runs in double-digit.

The middle-order failed miserably as Sarah Coyte bagged three wickets while Perry and Rene Farrell bagged two wickets each.

Interestingly, Australia is the most successful team of the shortest format World Cup as they have won the title five times. The most recent one on International Women's Day, March 8 by defeating India by 85 runs.

Location: India, Delhi, New Delhi