Slam bang begins

Telangana T20 League gets off to a starry start in city.

The Telangana T20 League got underway in style with a couple of one-sided victories and a tie that kept fans glued to action on the ground.

The match between Karimnagar Warriors and Adilabad Tigers was a thriller. Rahul Buddi (83 n.o) led the Warriors to 169 for 5. The Tigers tied the scores via Benjamin’s 60. In the Super Over, Karimnagar overhauled Adilabad’s lowly 4.

MLR Royals Mahbubnagar opened with an eight-wicket win over Kakatiya Kings as they replied to the Kings’ 159 for 9 with 163 for 2 in 16.5 overs, thanks to Thakur Tilak Verma’s 60.

Nizamabad Knights are jubilant after beating Hyderabad Sreenidhian Thunderbolts by four wickets.Nizamabad Knights are jubilant after beating Hyderabad Sreenidhian Thunderbolts by four wickets.

In another match, IPL player Mehdi Hasan took three wickets as Ranga Reddy Risers mauled Medak Mavericks.

Home side Hyderabad Sreenidhian Thunderbolts started badly though, losing to Nizamabad Knights by four wickets despite brilliant knocks by Danny Derek Prince (81) and Anuraag Vittal (74) that helped them post 178 for 5 in 20 overs. The Knights rode on Tanay Thagarajan’s 68 to reply with 181 for 6 in 19.2 overs.

Brief scores
Medak Mavericks 98 in 19.5 (Mickil Jaiswal 33, Kaneshkk Naidu 2/9, Mehdi Hasan 3/12) lost to Ranga Reddy Risers 102/3 in 13.2 (Prateek Pawar 39, P. Akshath Reddy 48 n.o). Man of the Match: Mehdi Hasan.

Kakatiya Kings 159/9 in 20 overs ( M. Yashwanth Reddy 23, Pragnay Reddy 67 — 45b, 7x4, 3x6, Mitta Charan Teja 30, Ajay Dev Goud 3/25, G. Aniketh Reddy 2/15) lost to MLR Royals Mahbubnagar 163/2 in 16.5 overs (Thakur Tilak Verma 60 — 32b, 4x4, 4x6, B. Chandra Sekhar 46 n.o, Md Shakeer Khan 28). Man of the Match: Thakur Tilak Verma.

Karimnagar Warriors 169/5 in 20 overs (Rahul Buddi 83 n.o — 55b, 9x4, 3x6, Amol Shinde 27) tied with Adilabad Tigers 169/9 in 20 overs (Benjamin 60 — 47b, 7x4, 2x6, Mir Jaweed Ali 27, K. Hema Teja 28 n.o, Rahul Buddi 3/22). Karimnagar Warriors won by Super over: Adilabad 4/1 — 0,w,1,1,0,2 (T. Ravi Teja, Neeraj Bist, Mir Jaweed Ali. Bowler: Rahul Buddi). Karimnagar 5 for no loss — 0,4,0,1 (Rahul Buddi, Amol Shinde. Bowler: Karan Kannan).

Hyderabad Sreenidhian Thunderbolts 178/5 in 20 over (Danny Derek Prince 81 — 56b, 5x4, 6x6, Anuraag Vittal 74 — 43b, 4x4, 5x6, Rajamani Prasad 2/32) lost to Nizamabad Knights 181/6 in 19.2 overs (Tanay Thagarajan 68 — 38b, 9x4,3x6, P. Praneeth Reddy 32 n.o). Man of the Match: P. Praneeth Reddy.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story