139th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra51533235171017757 Tamil Nadu2969012386384927 Andhra Pradesh2278601387122036 Karnataka178087939083198 Delhi1454271305874111 Uttar Pradesh122609726502069 West Bengal95554671202059 Bihar7972051315429 Telangana7949555999627 Gujarat71064542382652 Assam5883842326145 Rajasthan5249738235789 Odisha4592731785321 Haryana4163534781483 Madhya Pradesh3902529020996 Kerala3433121832109 Jammu and Kashmir2489717003472 Punjab2390315319586 Jharkhand185168998177 Chhatisgarh12148880996 Uttarakhand96326134125 Goa871259575 Tripura6161417641 Puducherry5382320187 Manipur3752204411 Himachal Pradesh3371218114 Nagaland27819048 Arunachal Pradesh215514823 Chandigarh151590425 Meghalaya10624906 Sikkim8664971 Mizoram6082980
Sports Cricket 05 Aug 2019 Watch: Stokes dismis ...

Watch: Stokes dismisses Travis Head on Day 4 of first Test in controversial fashion

DECCAN CHRONICLE | Edited by : AMEYA BARVE
Published Aug 5, 2019, 1:52 pm IST
Updated Aug 5, 2019, 1:56 pm IST
It seemed that umpire Aleem Dar failed to spot a backfoot no-ball of Stokes off which he scalped the wicket of Head.
Ben Stokes was successful to break the 130-run partnership by dismissing Head. (Photo: AFP)
 Ben Stokes was successful to break the 130-run partnership by dismissing Head. (Photo: AFP)

Mumbai: The duo of Steve Smith and Travis Head were batting comfortably to steer Australia into a commanding position on the fourth day of the first Ashes Test at Edgbaston.

However, Ben Stokes was successful to break the 130-run partnership by dismissing Head, but in a slightly controversial fashion. It seemed that umpire Aleem Dar failed to spot a backfoot no-ball of Stokes off which he scalped the wicket of Head.

 

Stokes came round the wicket and bowled from the edge of the sideline. It looked like his backfoot was touching the sideline which according to the rulebook should have been a no-ball.

As per the laws governing the sport, rule 21.5.1 states "the bowler’s back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery."

The third umpire decided the first point of contact was inside the line and ruled it a legal delivery.

Here's how Twitter reacted to the incident:

...




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT