BCCI announce Team India squad for Sri Lanka T20s, South Africa Test tour

Here is the full list of squads for the three-match T20s vs Sri Lanka and the three-match Test tour of South Africa.

New Delhi: The All-India Senior Selection Committee, led by MSK Prasad on Monday announced the India squad for the three-match T20 series against Sri Lanka along with unveiling the 17-member squad for the three-match Test tour of South Africa scheduled for January 2018.

Youngster Washington Sundar earned their maiden call-up for the T20 series that will be held on on December 20, 22 and 24 at Cuttack, Indore and Visakhapatnam respectively.

Meanwhile, the hosts have opted to go with five frontline pacer and two slow bowlers for the Test tour of the Proteas.

The three Tests will be played at Newlands, Cape Town (Jauary 5 to 9), Centurion (January 13-17) and The Wanderers, Johannesburg (January 24-28). Later, 2 teams will take on each other in 6 ODIs and 3 T20s, starting on 1st February that will go on till 24th February.

Pacer Jasprit Bumrah earned his major Test call-up, while Parthiv Patel was also included as a backup wicketkeeping option for Wriddhiman Saha. 24-year-old Hardik Pandya, who demanded rests for the Test series against Sri Lanka makes his comeback to Virat Kohli's squad.

With the conditions in South Africa favoured to assist pacers, the selectors have decided to retain prime spin duo R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, leaving out Kuldeep Yadav.

The frontline pace attack includes the likes of Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Bumrah.

3-match T20 squad vs Sri Lanka:

3-match Test squad vs South Africa:

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story