Sports Cricket 04 Feb 2017 Inter-state T20: Hyd ...

Inter-state T20: Hyderabad finish at second spot

Published Feb 4, 2017, 1:11 am IST
Updated Feb 4, 2017, 1:16 am IST
Karnataka, winners of the south zone inter-state T20 tournament.
 Karnataka, winners of the south zone inter-state T20 tournament.

Chennai: Karnataka edged out Tamil Nadu with a superior net run-rate to win the south zone inter-state T20 title, but there was nothing much to celebrate for the champions. Till last year, the winners from each zone would qualify for the all-India leg, but from this edition a combined zonal team will play in the final phase to be held in Mumbai from February 12.

Karnataka, who chased down the target of 121 set by Goa with 8.2 overs to spare in their final league game, finished on top with 16 points in five games.

Tamil Nadu, who overcame Kerala by four wickets, and Hyderabad, who suffered a stunning defeat at the hands of Andhra, finished second and third respectively. “We are done with the tournament in just five days. Every state is fighting for glory, but that doesn’t seem to happen in this format,” said Karnataka coach, J. Arun.

Brief scores:
n Andhra 140 in 19.2 overs (GH Vihari 49; Ravi Kiran 2/ 27, Md. Siraj 4/24) bt Hyderabad 129 in 20 overs (Tanmay Agarwal 49; P. Girinath Reddy 3/19, D. Swaroop Kumar 5/19).
n Goa 120/7 in 20 overs (Swapnil Asnodkar 34, S Arvind 4/29) lost to Karnataka 121/4 in 11.4 overs (R. Vinay Kumar 34)
n Kerala 128/6 in 20 overs (Sachin Baby 53*, A. Aswin Crist 3/19) lost to Tamil Nadu 129/5 in 18.4 overs (B. Aparajith 51*).
South zone squad: R. Vinay Kumar (captain, Karnataka), Vijay Shankar (VC, TN), Tanmey Agarwal (Hyderabad), Mayank Agarwal (Karnataka), Vishnu Vinod (Kerala), Ricky Bhui (Andhra), Dinesh Karthik (TN), G. Hanuma Vihari (Andhra), Pavan Deshpande (Karnataka), Rahil S. Shah (TN), M. Ashwin (TN), D. Swaroop (Andhra), C. V. Milind (Hyderabad), Basil Thampi (Kerala), Sandeep Warrier (Kerala), Arvind Sreenath (Karnataka).



More From Cricket