Deccan Chronicle

World Cup 2023 India Squad, Check Who's in, Players Dropped

Deccan Chronicle. | DC Correspondent

Published on: September 3, 2023 | Updated on: September 3, 2023
World Cup 2023 India Squad

World Cup 2023 India Squad

The official announcement of India's ODI World Cup 2023 team is anticipated to occur today. According to insiders, Ajit Agarkar, the head of the selection committee for the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), traveled to Sri Lanka to discuss with the team management and conclude the squad. Notably, this development closely resembles the previously unveiled Asia Cup 2023 squad, recently selected by the BCCI, with no significant deviations.

The ODI World Cup roster will comprise 15 players, and one noteworthy omission is the absence of wicket-keeper batter Sanju Samson. At the same time, the fully recovered KL Rahul has secured his place in the team.

In an earlier announcement regarding the Indian squad for the Asia Cup, Agarkar hinted that the ODI World Cup lineup would follow a similar pattern. However, the Asia Cup squad was comprised of 17 members, including Samson as a backup for Rahul. Given the World Cup's limited roster size of 15 players, two members from the primary squad had to be omitted.

It has come to light that the two individuals who will be left out from the final roster are Tilak Varma and Prasidh Krishna. Varma received his first-ever ODI call-up for the Asia Cup, while Krishna was included in the squad following an extended recovery period from injury. Among the returning players, Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Iyer, and KL Rahul have all secured positions in India's World Cup squad.

Notable by his absence is Yuzvendra Chahal, who was not selected for the Indian squad in the Asia Cup and has also been left out of the World Cup roster. Suryakumar Yadav, despite facing challenges in the 50-over format, maintains his place in the squad.

The anticipated lineup for India's World Cup 2023 team is as follows:

Rohit Sharma (Captain)
Hardik Pandya (Vice-Captain)
Shreyas Iyer
Suryakumar Yadav
KL Rahul (Wicket-Keeper)
Virat Kohli
Shubman Gill
Axar Patel
Ravindra Jadeja
Ishan Kishan (Wicket-Keeper)
Shardul Thakur
Kuldeep Yadav
Mohammad Shami
Mohammed Siraj
Jasprit Bumrah

Latest News
Most Popular