Sports Cricket 03 May 2018 IPL 2018, KKR vs CSK ...

IPL 2018, KKR vs CSK: Shubman Gill, Dinesh Karthik guide hosts to 6-wicket win

Published May 3, 2018, 7:05 pm IST
Updated May 3, 2018, 11:40 pm IST
Score after 17.4 overs, KKR 180-4, Dinesh Karthik 45*, Shubman Gill 57*; Lungi Ngidi 1/36, Harbhajan Singh 1/20, beat CSK by 6 wickets.
Shubman Gill played a match-winning knock of 57.(Photo: BCCI)
 Shubman Gill played a match-winning knock of 57.(Photo: BCCI)

Kolkata: India’s Under-19 star Shubman Gill (57 not out) was the hero for Kolkata Knight Riders as the hosts beat Chennai Super Kings by six wickets here on Thursday.

KKR’s route to victory, however, was not easy, as they lost Chris Lynn early.


After Lynn’s dismissal, Sunil Narine was their next hope. However, Narine departed for 32 off 20 balls as Ravindra Jadeja got his first wicket of the night.

It was after Narine’s and Rinku Singh’s (16 runs) dismissal when Shubman joined the party, putting up a 83-run partnership with Dinesh Karthik (45 not out).

CSK, as a result, suffered their third loss in this year’s IPL.

KKR 155-4 from 16 overs

Shubman Gill has scored his maiden IPL fifty as KKR close in on victory. Will this be a match-winning effort?

KKR 97-4 from 11.4 overs


WICKET! Harbhajan Singh dismisses Rinku Singh for 16 as the ball rips through te stumps and removes the bails.

KKR 64-3 from 6.4 overs

WICKET! Sunil Narine was looking in devastating form, but Ravindra Jadeja has struck at the right moment to dismiss the batsman for 32.

KKR 40-2 from 4.2 overs

WICKET! KM Asif gets his first wicket as he sees off Robin Uthappa for nine runs.

KKR 12-1 from 1 over

WICKET! Lungi Ngidi strikes early as Chris Lynn finds Shane Watson at the slip. This is a huge blow for the hosts.

CSK innings

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) skipper MS Dhoni once again led from the front as his team finished at 177-5 from 20 overs in their IPL match against Kolkata Knight Riders here on Thursday.


Having been put to bat by the hosts, Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson put up a 48-run partnership for the first wicket, after which the former departed for 27. Most of the middle-order batsmen got off to promising starts, but never converted those to big innings.

While Watson was dismissed for 36, Suresh Raina walked back after scoring 31 runs.

Ambati Rayudu (21) also played a cameo role in the innings.

CSK 119-4 from 14.4 overs

WICKET! Sunil Narine strikes again, this time it is ' you miss, I hit' as the ball hits the bails to dismiss Ambati rayudu for 21.


CSK 101-3 from 11.4 overs

WICKET! Suresh Raina has been dismissed for 31 just when he was looking settled at the crease. Kuldeep Yadav gets his first wicket of the match.

CSK 91-2 from 10.2 overs

WICKET! What a spectacular catch by Shivam Mavi to dismiss the in-form Shane Watson, as Sunil Narine celebrates his wicket.

CSK 48-1 from 5.1 overs

WICKET! Piyush Chawla's googly does the trick as he sees off Faf du Plessis for 27!

Toss update

Dinesh Karthik won the toss on Thursday, and decided that KKR would put the visitors to bat.


KKR have made one change, with Rinku Singh coming in place of injured Nitish Rana.

Meanwhile, Dhoni has gone with the same playing XI which beat Delhi dardevils (DD) by 13 runs on Monday.

Here's the playing XI for both the teams:


Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Dinesh Karthik will once again come head-to-head in the Indian Premier League (IPL) when Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) host Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the 33rd match of the cash-rich tournament.


The last time the two teams met was during the only match at Chepauk this season, with CSK beating the Kolkata franchise by five wickets.

Cricket fans can look forward to interesting player battles in this match, with fellow Aussie cricketers Chris Lynn (KKR) and Shane Watson (CSK) locking horns.

Overall, CSK hold a 11-6 lead over KKR in their head-to-head meetings.

Lungi Ngidi, who made his IPL debut in CSK’s last match against Delhi Dardevils (DD), will be an integral setup of CSK’s bowling attack.

The 22-year-old finished with a spell of 1-26 from four overs in the match which the two-time champions won by 13 runs.


KKR, meanwhile, have suffered a blow as Nitish Rana seems to be doubtful for the all-important encounter with a back injury.




Kolkata Knight Riders: Dinesh Karthik (Captain), Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Kuldeep Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Nitish Rana, Prasidh Krishna, Shivam Mavi, Mitchell Johnson, Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Cameron Delport, Javon Searless, Ishank Jaggi, Tom Curran, Apoorv Wankhade, R Vinay Kumar.

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (Captain), Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Faf du Plessis, Harbhajan Singh, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, KM Asif, Kanishk Seth, Lungi Ngidi, Dhruv Shorey, Murali Vijay, Sam Billings, Mark Wood, Kshitiz Sharma, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Imran Tahir, Karn Sharma, Shardul Thakur, N Jagadeesan, David Willey, , Monu Kumar.


When is the match?

The match is scheduled to start at 8 P.M. IST on Thursday(May 3rd).

Where is the match?

The match will take place at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Live telecast and timings:

With Star India now acquiring the media rights from Sony Pictures Network India for the upcoming season, the matches will be telecast on various Star Sports channels.

Live streaming:

The matches can be viewed live on or on the Hotstar app.