Sports Cricket 03 Feb 2019 NZ vs IND 5th ODI: I ...

NZ vs IND 5th ODI: India win 4 matches in an ODI series in New Zealand for first time

Published Feb 3, 2019, 8:43 am IST
Updated Feb 3, 2019, 3:30 pm IST
Score after 44.1 overs, New Zealand 217-all out: James Neesham 44, Tom Latham 37; Chahal 10-0-43-3.
Shami removes the openers to give India the control of the game. (Photo: AFP)
 Shami removes the openers to give India the control of the game. (Photo: AFP)

Wellington: India win this one by 35 runs and take the series 4-1. Fantastic result for the Men in Blue as this is the first time India have won 4 matches in an ODI series in New Zealand. The Kiwis have lost the home series for the first time since the series against Australia in 2004/05.

New Zealand 204-9 after 43.1 overs


CAUGHT! It's all over here in Wellington. India win the 5th ODI and the series 4-1.

New Zealand 204-9 after 43.1 overs

CAUGHT! Nine down, one to go. Pandya gets his second wicket as Santner departs for 22. NZ 204/9.

New Zealand 176-7 after 36.2 overs

RUN OUT! Neesham was looking in good touch, scoring 44 off just 32 deliveries. India can breathe now as they seem to have taken the control back from the Kiwis.

New Zealand 141-6 after 33 overs

Time for Drinks. Bowlers have done well to ensure India stay ahead of this game. New Zealand need 112 runs to win in 17 overs.


New Zealand 105-6 after 31 overs

WICKET! Chahal gets another one, its the straighter one from the leg-spinner and de Grandhomme fails to read it.

New Zealand 105-4 after 25.4 overs

CAUGHT! Jadhav doing what he does best: Break a strong partnership. Just the wicket India were searching for as Williamson departs for 39.

New Zealand 100-3 after 24 overs

100 up for New Zealand! Good over for India as Jadhav gives away just 4 runs.

New Zealand 78-3 after 20 overs

Williamson and Latham steady the scoreboard as the partnership is now worth 43 off 58.


New Zealand 38-3 after 10.2 overs

LBW! Hardik Pandya strikes a massive blow to New Zealand as Ross Taylor goes back to the pavilion for just 1.

New Zealand 37-2 after 9.1 overs

BOWLED! Shami strikes again as he removes the dangerous Colin Munro for 24.

New Zealand 18-1 after 3.3 overs

CAUGHT! Shami draws first blood. Henry Nicholls departs for 8.

India 252-all out. after 49 overs

RUN OUT! Shami is well off the crease as India are all out for 252. New Zealand need 253 runs to win.

India 252-9 after 49.4 overs

CAUGHT! Another one bites the dust. Bhuvneshwar tried to slap it through the off side but only went as far as extra cover.


India 248-8 after 49 overs

CAUGHT! Outstanding catch from Boult running backwards to dismiss Pandya! Hardik scored a quick 45 off just 22 deliveries. Shami is the new batsman on the pitch.

India 203-7 after 45.2 overs

BOWLED! Henry clean bowls Jadhav for 34 to get his fourth wicket. Bhuvneswar Kumar comes to the crease now.

India 202-6 after 45 overs

Excellent over from Todd Astle as he concedes just 5 runs from his fourth over.

India 190-6 after 43.2 overs

CAUGHT! Rayudu goes long but can't clear the ropes as he falls in the nervous nineties. He departs for 90.


India 168-5 after 40 overs

Excellent over for India as 15 runs come from the over. India have crossed the 150-run mark as they aim to put up a fighting total.

India 116-5 after 31.5 overs

RUN OUT! Huge miscommunication as both the batsmen were standing in the middle of the pitch. Vijay Shankar departs for 45. 

India 109-4 after 30 overs

100 comes up for India! Both Rayudu and Shankar are now worth 41 each as India look in control of the game now thanks to this partnership.

India 88-4 after 25 overs

The partnership between Ambati Rayudu and Vijay Shankar is worth 70 off 93 now and it has been a crucial partnership, to say the least.


India 40-4 after 16 overs

Drinks are on the field now. India in deep trouble yet again as they've lost four early wickets.

Toss update

India won the toss and have elected to bat.



New Zealand:

Henry Nicholls, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Colin de Grandhomme, Todd Astle, Matt Henry, Trent Boult.


Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal.