Graduates’ MLC election records 68.65% polling

Cong leaders accused of distribution of money

Nalgonda: Voting for the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda legislative council graduates by-election, which recorded 68.65 per cent turnout, was completed on a peaceful note on Monday. Of the total 4,63,839 graduate voters, 3,28,445 exercised their franchise, said election officials, later.

The highest poll percentage (74) was recorded in Mulugu district, while the lowest was at Khammam (65.54).

The district-wise poll percentage breakup was: Siddipet (68.72), Jangaon (71.6), Hanamkonda (71.21), Warangal (70.84), Mahbubabad (66.52) Jayashankar Bhupalapally (69.16), Bhadradri-Kothagudem (68.05), Yadadri-Bhongir (67.45), Suryapet (70.62) and Nalgonda (66.75).

The polling, which started rather slowly, picked up momentum from 11 am.

Congress candidate Teenmar Mallanna (Chinthapandu Naveen) cast his vote in a polling station at Chintapalli in Yadadri-Bhongir district, BRS candidate A. Rakesh Reddy at Pingili women’s college in Hanamkonda and BJP’s Gujjala Premender Reddy at the University arts college in Hanamkonda.

Meanwhile, police took into custody two persons, who were caught distributing money to voters at the University arts college and seized `10,000 from their possession.

In Nalgonda district, an independent candidate, Palakuri Ashok, staged a dharna in front of Narketpally police station alleging that Congress leaders had tried to attack him and had damaged his cellphone with which he was trying to record distribution of money to voters. Subsequently, a gunman was provided to Ashok until the completion of the voting.

Suryapet legislator G. Jagadish Reddy alleged that police personnel remained passive when Congress leaders were distributing money at different places.

Meanwhile, returning officer Dasari Harichandana informed that no untoward incident was reported from any of the 605 polling stations. She said that ballot boxes would be shifted to the counting centre in FCI godowns at Nalgonda.

Next Story