Congress and BJP in Photo-Finish

Owaisi wins fifth term; BRS draws blank

Hyderabad: The Lok Sabha election results in Telangana ended in a rare tie with the Congress and the BJP winning eight seats each. The remaining seat was won by AIMIM, while BRS, which had nine sitting MPs, drew a blank on Tuesday. The Congress won the Secunderabad Cantonment Assembly bypoll.

The Congress won 40.11 per cent of the votes, the BJP

35.01 and the BRS 16.7 per cent.

TPCC president Chief Minister Revanth Reddy, who led the party’s campaign, said the people had acknowledged the performance of the Congress government in delivering poll promises within 100 days of coming to power.

The Congress won the Nalgonda seat by almost 5.60 lakh majority, a record in the state. It was won by electoral debutant Kunduru Raghuveer Reddy, son of veteran leader Kunduru Jana Reddy, with a 5,59,905 votes majority.

Khammam Congress candidate R. Raghuram Reddy also won with an overwhelming majority of 4,67,847 votes. Of the eight Congress winners, six secured a majority ranging from one lakh to five lakh except

for Nagarkurnool and Zaheerabad, where Mallu Ravi won with a majority of 94,414 votes and Suresh Kumar Shetkar won with a majority of 46,174 votes, respectively.

The Congress bagged Nalgonda, Bhongir, Khammam, Warangal, Mahbubabad, Zahirabad, Peddapalli and Nagarkurnool, while BJP won Adilabad, Nizamabad, Karimnagar, Medak, Malkajgiri, Chevella, Secunderabad and Mahbubnagar.

The AIMIM retained its seat in the Hyderabad constituency defeating BJP candidate K. Madhavi Latha with party chief Asaduddin Owaisi getting elected for the fifth consecutive term. His 3,38, 087-lakh vote margin was higher than in 2019.

The BRS, which lost power to Congress in the Assembly polls, failed to win a single seat and indeed lost deposits on many seats. It had won 11 seats in 2014 and nine in 2019.

Congress candidate Kadiyam Kavya won with a 2,20,339-vote margin, while Vamsi Krishna Gaddam won Peddapalli posted a 1,31,364-vote victory.

Some BJP candidates also secured a bumper majority. However, the party’s national vice-president D.K. Aruna won the seat from Mahbubnagar with by a wafer-thin 4,500-vote majority amid a tough time in several rounds of counting with over 12.2 lakh votes cast.

Malkajgiri BJP candidate Etala Rajendar, who lost the Assembly elections from Huzurabad, won as Lok Sabha MP with 3,91,475 votes majority. Karimnagar MP Bandi Sanjay Kumar retained his seat with 2,25,209 votes majority. Nizamabad BJP MP D. Arvind retained his seat with a 1,09,241-vote majority. BJP candidate Konda Vishweshwar Reddy won the Chevella seat by 1,72,897 votes.


List shows the constituency, candidate and the victory margin

Nalgonda: Kundur Raghuveer Reddy; 5,59,905

Khammam: Ramasahayam Raghuram Reddy; 4,67,847

Mahbubabad: Balram Naik Porika; 3,49,028

Bhongir: Chamala Kiran Kumar Reddy; 2,22,170

Warangal: Kadiyam Kavya; 2,20,339

Peddapalle: Vamsi Krishna Gaddam: 1,31,364

Nagarkurnool: Mallu Ravi; 94,414

Zaheerabad: Suresh Kumar Shetkar; 46,174


Malkajgiri: Etala Rajendar; 3,91,475

Karimnagar: Bandi Sanjay Kumar; 2,25,209

Chevella: Konda Vishweshwar Reddy; 1,72,897

Nizamabad: D. Arvind; 1,09,241

Adilabad: Godam Nagesh; 90,652

Secunderabad G. Kishan Reddy; 49,944

Medak: Madhavaneni Raghunandan Rao; 39,139

Mahbubnagar: D.K. Aruna; 4,500 (majority)


Hyderabad: Asaduddin Owaisi; 3,38,087

( Source : Deccan Chronicle )
Next Story