Dynastic fortunes swing in Andhra Pradesh elections

TIRUPATI: The Andhra Pradesh state assembly elections saw mixed fortunes for the state's powerful political dynasties, with some reinforcing their grip while others faced setbacks.

The Nara family continued their dominance, with father-son duo Nara Chandrababu Naidu and Nara Lokesh of the Telugu Desam clinching massive victories. Naidu secured a majority of 48,184 votes in his bastion, Kuppam, over his rival. With this, Naidu has won his eighth term as MLA from Kuppam.

Lokesh registered his first victory by securing a record majority of 91,431 votes against his YSRC rival. From the legendary Nandamuri clan, former chief minister and Telugu Desam founder NT Rama Rao's son Nandamuri Balakrishna retained his winning streak in Hindupur with a majority of 32, 597 votes against TN Deepika of the YSRC.

The most powerful Yeduguri Sandinti (YS) family witnessed both triumph and defeat. YSR Congress party chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, son of former CM YS Rajasekhara Reddy, secured an easy win in Pulivendula with a 61,687 votes majority. However, his sister YS Sharmila, leading the state Congress, lost to another YS family scion, YS Avinash Reddy, in Kadapa LS.

"The family's internal dynamics and rivalries have played out on the electoral stage. This could signal a shift in their influence,” observed Ramakrishna Reddy, a political analyst.

Other dynasts tasting victory included Kotla Jayasurya Prakash Reddy (Dhone), son of ex-CM Kotla Vijaya Bhaskara Reddy; Kinjarapu Atchannaidu (Tekkali), the TD’s state chief, Kinjarapu Rammohan Naidu, son of late Union minister Kinjarapu Yerran Naidu in Srikakulam.

The YSRC's Peddireddy Ramachandra Reddy, the strongman of YSRC, won in Punganur along with his son PV Mithun Reddy (Rajampet) and brother Peddireddy Dwarakanatha Reddy (Thamballapalle).

However, several political families faced defeats. The Botsa family, including YSRC minister Botsa Satyanarayana, former MP Botsa Jhansi Lakshmi and Botsa Appalanarasayya, lost their seats to the TD.

The Mekapati family, with a legacy under Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy, failed to win a single seat, with son Vikram Reddy and brother Rajagopal Reddy losing Atmakur and Udayagiri respectively.

Nedurumalli Ramkumar Reddy of YSRC, son of former CM Nedurumalli Janardhan Reddy, faced defeat in Venkatagiri. Six-term Kovur MLA Nallapareddy Prasanna Kumar Reddy also lost his bastion to TD's Vemireddy Prashanthi Reddy.

"The voters have shown that they are willing to break away from dynastic loyalties. While one family won multiple seats, with father, son, and brother emerging victorious, another family failed to secure a single seat. This could mark the end of an era for some dynasties," opined Reddy.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle )
Next Story