Congress Sweeps Kalyana Karnataka, Kharge Leads Triumph

Under Kharge's leadership, Congress wins all Kalyana Karnataka seats, defeating BJP and highlighting Article 371J benefits. Key victories in Gulbarga, Bidar, Raichur
Mangaluru: In a significant political victory, AICC President Mallikarjun Kharge has led the Congress to a clean sweep in the Kalyana Karnataka (Hyderabad Karnataka) region, wresting all constituencies from the BJP. This remarkable feat highlights Kharge’s effective leadership, united efforts of the local leaders, and strategic campaigning, resulting in a major boost for the Congress party in the area.
The Congress secured all five constituencies in the Kalyana Karnataka region—Bidar, Gulbarga, Raichur, Koppal, and Bellary. These seats were previously held by the BJP in the 2019 elections.
Party leaders and workers attribute this success to Kharge’s tireless efforts and the unified work of local party members.
Kalaburagi, Kharge’s home base, was a focal point in this election. While BJP wanted to defeat Kharge on his home turf, Kharge and his team wanted to make a comeback.
Following his defeat in Gulbarga in the 2019 elections and subsequent elevation to AICC president, Kharge prioritized strengthening the party’s presence in Kalyana Karnataka. He emphasized the developmental projects undertaken by him and the Congress government and highlighted the special reservations in employment and education under Article 371J for the region’s seven districts. Kharge's relentless rally participation and direct engagement with party cadres were instrumental in this turnaround.
During interactions with party workers and leaders, Kharge emphasized the importance of winning all constituencies in the region.
“We were confident of securing all five constituencies in the region. Kharge Saheb’s influence, combined with the collective efforts of party leaders and workers, was crucial in our victory. Kharge ji’s elevation to AICC president instilled pride in our workers, and the people acknowledged our role in implementing Article 371J,”
working president A Vasanth Kumar told Deccan Chronicle.
One of the most notable victories was by Congress candidate Radhakrishna, Kharge’s son-in-law, in Gulbarga, a seat previously won by BJP’s Dr. Umesh Jadhav in the 2019 election by defeating Mallikarjun Kharge.
Sagar Khandre, son of Karnataka’s Forest and Ecology Minister Eshwar Khandre, secured the Bidar seat by defeating Union Minister of State for Chemicals and Fertilizers Bhagwanth Khuba, who had held the seat for two terms.
G Kumar Naik's victory in Raichur, defeating sitting MP Raja Amareshwara Naik, came as a boost to the party. E Tukaram defeated BJP’s Sriramulu in Bellary, a seat previously held by Y. Deverendrappa for the BJP in 2019.
K Rajashekar Basavaraj Hitnal's victory in Koppal over Dr. Basavaraj K Sharanappa of the BJP was particularly notable, given that former BJP member Karadi Sanganna had switched to Congress due to his dissatisfaction with the BJP's candidate selection. Sanganna had won the seat for BJP in 2014 and 2019.
( Source : Deccan Chronicle )
Next Story