All Set for MLC By-Polls in Erstwhile Warangal

Nalgonda: All is set for voting for the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda graduates constituency Legislative Council bypoll on Monday. Votes will be cast at 605 polling stations on Monday. The constituency straddles 34 Assembly seats, 31 of which are with the Congress. Distribution and reception centres (DRCs) have been set up at 12 district headquarters.

Polling would be conducted from 8 am to 4 pm and counting of votes will be taken up on June 5.

Chintakayala ‘Teenmar Mallanna’ of the Congress, Anugula Rakesh Reddy of the BRS and Gujjala Premendar Reddy of the BJP and 49 independents are in the fray.

The total electors — all graduates — are 4,63,839 including 2,88,189 male and 1,75,645 female voters.

Polling would be conducted at 97 polling stations in Nalgonda district, 71 in Suryapet, 37 in Yadadri-Bhogir, 118 in Khammam, 55 in Badadri-Kothagudem, 16 in Bhupalapally, 17 in Mulugu, 36 in Mahaboobabad, 59 in Warangal, 67 in Hanmakonda, 27 in Jangon and five in Siddipet district. Section 144 would be in force at all polling stations on Monday.

The polling staff collected ballot boxes, ballot papers and other accessories from DRCs before heading for allocated polling stations in special buses. Returning officer Dasari Harichandana inspected the DRCs set up in St Alphonsus High School at Nalgonda.

After completion of the polling, ballot boxes would be shifted to strong room in FCI godowns at Nalgonda for counting. She asked all contesting candidates and people to cooperate for a free and fair polling.

Police officials have made tight police security arrangements along with imposing prohibitory orders under CrPC Section 144 at all the polling stations to prevent gathering of people.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle )
Next Story