BRS gears up for Lok Sabha polls

Hyderabad: The BRS, after losing the Assembly elections to the Congress, is gearing up for the Lok Sabha elections scheduled to be held in April.

The BRS in 2019 won nine constituencies: Khammam, Medak, Zaheerabad, Warangal, Mahbubabad, Mahbubnagar, Peddapalli, Chevella, and Nagarkurnool. It had left Hyderabad for the MIM.

The BRS announced that party president and former chief minister K. Chandrashekar Rao had assigned the task of rallying party members for the general elections to its working president, K.T. Rama Rao. His team includes party secretary general K. Keshava Rao, senior leaders T. Harish Rao, Pocharam Srinivas Reddy, Kadiam Srihari, G. Jagadish Reddy, S. Niranjan Reddy, V. Prashant Reddy, and former Speaker S. Madhusudhana Chary.

These leaders are scheduled to conduct Lok Sabha constituency-wise meetings starting from January 3 at the party headquarters, Telangana Bhavan, in Hyderabad.

The party finds it challenging to retain some of these nine seats and make inroads into others, particularly in Khammam, Hyderabad, Nalgonda, and Peddapalli constituencies. In the recent state elections, the party's candidates lost in all Assembly segments in these Lok Sabha seats.

The BRS won only in one segment each in Bhongir, Warangal, and Mahbubabad, two each in Adilabad, Zaheerabad, and Nagarkurnool, and three Assembly segments each in Nizamabad and Karimnagar.

The meetings scheduled from January 3 aim to gather feedback from party leaders across all 17 Lok Sabha constituencies, to devise a strategy to counter the Congress and the BJP. Notably, the BJP holds four Lok Sabha seats in the state and the Congress three, although the latter's members have resigned following their victories in the Assembly elections.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story