Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge Plans Major Overhaul Ahead of 2024 Elections

New Delhi: Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge is all set to crack the whip after the results of the five state Assembly elections are declared. A massive shakeup is on the cards with Mr Kharge planning to rejig the AICC organisation and reshuffle the state in-charges and PCC chiefs in a bid to make the party battle ready for the Lok Sabha polls. It has been more than a year since Mr Kharge has taken over as party chief. He has constituted a new working committee, the highest decision-making body of the party. He has made minor changes in the AICC organization, and inducting Mr Ajay Maken as the party’s treasurer.

The PCC chiefs of the states that have gone to the polls will either be replaced or may be accommodated in the new governments where the party comes to power. The same is true of the general secretaries and in-charges of the respective states. The in-charges of Punjab and Rajasthan are expected to be replaced, as are those of Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh. Insiders claim that the Congress president has drawn up a list of leaders who should be put in major positions. The criteria has been taken from the Udaipur declaration of the party, which specifies that young leaders and women should be given a chance in the organisation. Some prominent faces are likely to find a place in the newly-constituted AICC.

Apart from this, a public insight group, an election management committee and public affairs committee will be set up by the Congress chief. These will oversee the party’s poll management for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Mr Kharge has taken time to zero in on individuals but insiders claim that full-fledged changes are just around the corner and the new team will be in place shortly. The Congress feels that after the results of the five Assembly elections, its chances for the Lok Sabha 2024 will be greatly enhanced. The party therefore wants to see new faces to lead the charge to ensure that the momentum is sustained.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story