Disappointed Congress ticket aspirants in dilemma

Warangal/Karimnagar: Following the announcement of the second list of the Congress candidates for the Assembly elections, many aspirants, who have been denied tickets after serious lobbying, are in disappointment and dilemma whether to support the party nominees or contest as rebel candidates in the erstwhile Warangal and Karimnagar districts.

In the Parkal constituency, four leaders including Enagala Venkatram Reddy, former MLC Konda Muralidhar Rao, ex-Maoist leader G. Ashok and Revuri Prakash Reddy competed for the ticket. Everyone thought that Venkatram Reddy would be nominated, but the party went for newly-joined Revuri Prakash Reddy.

In Wardhannapet, Congress nominated former IPS officer, K.R. Naga Raju, disappointing two other aspirants Namindla Srinivas and former MP Sircilla Rajaiah. DCC president Naini Rajendar Reddy got the ticket from Warangal West against former DCC president Janga Raghava Reddy, while the Warangal East ticket was allotted to former minister Konda Surekha, competing with DCC president Errabelli Swarna and minority leaders Azmatullah Huasseni.

The party allotted the Mahabubabad ticket to Dr Murali Naik, denying former MP Porika Balram Naik and the Palakurthy seat to Yashswini, the daughter-in-law of Hanumandal Jhansi, against Y. Tirupathi Reddy.
Former MP Ponnam Prabhakar was nominated from Husnabad, denying local party leader and former MLA Aligireddy Praveen Reddy, while Huzurabad ticket was given to newcomer Vodithal Pranav Rao, the grandson of the Rajeswhar Rao, disappointing NSUI state president Balmoor Venkat Rao.

Sources said that the disappointed ticket aspirants Enagala Venkatram Reddy, Janga Raghava Reddy, Namindal Srinivas, Errabelli Swarna, Porika Balram Naik and Tirupathi Reddy of erstwhile Warangal district and A. Praveen Reddy and Balmoor Venkat of erstwhile Karimnagar district are likely to hold meetings with their followers in their respective constituencies to announce their decision whether to contest as independents or support the party candidates.

Next Story