The Indian Premier League 2020

Nation Politics 29 May 2019 Sonia Gandhi, Rahul ...

Sonia Gandhi, Rahul to attend Modi's oath taking ceremony tomorrow

Published May 29, 2019, 5:53 pm IST
Updated May 30, 2019, 1:20 am IST
Among the Indian leaders, chief ministers and Opposition leaders have been invited for the ceremony.
United Progressive Alliance (UPA) chairperson Sonia Gandhi  (Photo: PTI/File)
 United Progressive Alliance (UPA) chairperson Sonia Gandhi (Photo: PTI/File)

New Delhi: United Progressive Alliance (UPA) chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress President Rahul Gandhi and former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh will attend swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi on May 30 at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi at 7 pm.

Also, on Monday keeping out to Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan, India had invited leaders of the Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) — that includes Bangladesh, Bhutan, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Thailand — for the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi.


Among the Indian leaders, chief ministers and Opposition leaders have been invited for the ceremony. However, earlier on Wednesday West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress Chief Mamata Banerjee stated that she decided not to attend Modi's oath ceremony, though she had confirmed to come on Tuesday.

Mamata Banerjee said: ''It was my plan to attend oath-taking ceremony, however in past one hour, I am seeing media reports that the BJP is claiming 54 people have been killed in political violence in Bengal. This is untrue. I am compelled not to attend the ceremony''.


The  Bharatiya Janata Party has also invited the family memeber of 40 workers who were murdered in political violence in West Bengal in the past one year to attend swearing-in of Narendra Modi.

According to the PTI report,: There are speculation that Amit Shah might continue as BJP chief since Assembly elections in some key states are due to be held in the next one year. Many BJP leaders are of the view that most key members of the previous Cabinet could be retained. Senior members like Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman, Smriti Irani, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Piyush Goyal, Dharmendra Pradhan, Narendra Singh Tomar and Prakash Javadekar are likely to retain their place. Irani, who defeated Rahul Gandhi in his home turf of Amethi in Uttar Pradesh to earn the tag of giant killer, is expected to get a key portfolio.


In recently concluded Lok Sabha election, the Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) registered a massive victory by winning 303 out of 542 seats on its own, while Congress decimated at 52 seats.

 Keep yourself updated on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 with our round-the-clock coverage -- breaking news, updates, analysis et al. Happy reading.

Location: India, Delhi, New Delhi