Nation Politics 28 May 2018 Voting begins for Pa ...

Voting begins for Palghar, Bhandara-Gondia Lok Sabha bypolls in Maharashtra

Published May 28, 2018, 11:25 am IST
Updated May 28, 2018, 11:29 am IST
The constituency includes extended suburbs of Mumbai such as Vasai, Virar, Nalasopara, and Palghar in the newly-created Palghar district.
A man outside a polling booth in Palghar. (Photo: Twitter/ANI)
 A man outside a polling booth in Palghar. (Photo: Twitter/ANI)

Mumbai: The by-elections to Palghar and Bhandara-Gondia Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra began on Monday morning for which all major parties have gone all out as the outcome is likely to have a bearing on their future course.

There was no untoward incident at any polling booth so far, police said.


In Palghar, the bypoll was necessitated following the death of BJP's Chintaman Wanaga.

The BJP's bickering ally Shiv Sena has fielded the late MP's son Srinivas in a bid to garner the sympathy vote.

The BJP has put up former Congress minister Rajendra Gavit.

The Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (BVA) led by Vasai-Virar strongman Hitendra Thakur is also in the fray with the nomination of its ex-MP Baliram Jadhav. Kiran Raja Gahla of the CPI-M, which has a base in Talasari and Dahanu, and former MP Damu Shingada (Congress) are also contesting in a multi-cornered fight from the seat reserved for scheduled tribes (ST).


The Sena has accused the BJP of distributing cash to voters.

Read: Shiv Sena writes to EC, accuses BJP of bribing voters ahead of Maharashtra bypolls

During a rally, Uddhav played an audio clip wherein Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis purportedly exhorted party cadre to win the elections "by all means possible." Fadnavis said the audio recording was doctored.

Also Read: Shiv Sena releases purported audio clip of CM Fadnavis, sparks row

Also Read: Maha CM hits back, releases 14-minute audio clip to silence Shiv Sena

An editorial in the Sena mouthpiece Saamana on Monday said its nominee will win the Palghar seat, despite the BJP roping in UP CM Yogi Adityanath in the poll campaign.


Also Read: Sena back-stabbed BJP; India can progress only under PM Modi: Yogi Adityanath

"Lord Ram will emerge from the ballot box, wielding bow and arrow (Sena's symbol) and win this seat," it said.

The constituency includes extended suburbs of Mumbai such as Vasai, Virar, Nalasopara, and Palghar in the newly-created Palghar district. As many as 18 candidates are in fray in Bhandara- Gondia and seven in Palghar.

There are total 3,49,1218 voters. In Palghar, out of the 2,097 polling booths, 14 are listed as critical, while in Bhandara-Gondia, out of 2,149 polling booths, 71 are situated in Naxal-hit areas and 113 are listed as critical. In Bhandara-Gondia, the BJP and the NCP have locked horns in the bypoll, being held after the resignation of BJP MP Nana Patole. Patole, a leader of the powerful OBC Kunbi community, had switched side from the Congress to the BJP and was elected as an MP from the constituency in Vidarbha in 2014 by defeating former union minister and NCP heavyweight Praful Patel.


The NCP, which has allied with the Congress, has fielded former BJP MLA Madhukar Kukde, against BJP's Hemant Patle, who belongs to the Powar community and is also a former legislator. Counting of votes will be undertaken on May 31.