Telangana Congress Second List Out, Check Candidates Names

The third and final list will be released by November 2

New Delhi: The Congress unveiled its highly anticipated second list of candidates for the forthcoming Telangana State Assembly elections, presenting 45 names in a strategic move to bolster its campaign.

The announcement came on Friday following a meticulous deliberation by the party's central election committee, headed by Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge.

Former MLA Komatireddy Rajgopal Reddy, who quit the BJP on Thursday, and joined the Congress on Friday, will contest from Munugode. Komatireddy had expressed his willingness to contest against Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao in Gajwel, along with Munugode.

The Congress is leaving no stone unturned to secure a strong foothold in the state assembly. The Central Election Committee (CEC), led by Mallikarjun Kharge, worked diligently to finalise the selection of candidates, taking into consideration various factors.

Party sources said that the third and final list will be released by November 2, following which the process of filing nominations for the Assembly polls will commence on November 3.

A consensus is yet to be reached on the two seats each to be allotted to CPI and CPM and a final decision on this issue is also likely to be taken in the CEC meeting on Friday.

Next Story