Deccan Chronicle

Shobha Karandlaje, Aravind Limbavali in BS Yeddyurappa's dream team

Deccan Chronicle | DC Correspondent

Published on: May 26, 2016 | Updated on: May 26, 2016

Former CM has retained C.T. Ravi while RSS pracharak from Hubballi, Arun Kumar has been appointed party organizing secretary.

MP Shobha Karandlaje with B.S. Yeddyurappa

MP Shobha Karandlaje with B.S. Yeddyurappa

Bengaluru: State BJP President B.S.Yeddyurappa on Thursday announced his new team of office bearers who will have a tenure of three years.

Udupi-Chikkamagaluru MP and a diehard supporter of Mr Yeddyurappa, Shobha Karandlaje, former minister Aravind Limbavali and ABVP leader N. Ravikumar have been appointed new general secretaries. The Former Chief Minister has retained former minister C.T. Ravi while RSS pracharak from Hubballi, Arun Kumar has been appointed party organizing secretary. The new team will have to galvanise the party cadre from the grassroot level and chalk out a series of agitations against the Congress government for the next 18 months to emerge on top in the 2018 Assembly elections. Interestingly, Mr Yeddyurappa has ensured the exit of organizing secretary Sanothosh and his loyalists like Raghunath Malkapure and Somanna Bevinamarada.

Sources told this newspaper that Ms Karandlaje had worked behind the scenes to prepare the new team with a few of her supporters too getting positions. Before choosing the new office bearers, Mr. Yeddyurappa reportedly did not consult party core committee leaders. He has unilaterally taken a decision to bring his loyalists to the helm, said sources close to former Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar. While Ms Karandlaje has been brought in to checkmate Mr Ravi, Mr Limbavali is expected to ‘neutralise’ former DCM R. Ashok in Bengaluru.

Mr Yeddyurappa has also considered, caste, region and the popularity of leaders while appointing office bearers. He has given a chance to new faces, young leaders and also new entrants, who have shifted to the BJP from the Congress and Janatha Parivar.

Former minister Suresh Kumar and MLC G. Madhusudhan were appointed party spokespersons.

Latest News
Most Popular