Karnataka polls: 24 nominees in Ballari, highest in state

BENGALURU: In the ensuing Assembly elections, four Assembly seats-Ballari, Hosakote, Chitradurga and Yelahanka have the highest nominees in fray and seven seats are low nominee contested seats.

As many as 24 nominees remain in the fray for Ballari Assembly seat in the ensuing Assembly polls making it the seat with highest number of contenders in the State followed by Hosakote with 23 nominees, Chitradurga with 21 candidates and Yelahanka in Bengaluru city with 20 nominees in fray.

Seat with one of the highest number of nominees in fray, Ballari Assembly constituency is being contested by former MLA and Janata Dal Secular (JDS) leader Anil Lad, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) nominee and incumbent MLA Gali Somashekar Reddy, Nara Bharat Reddy from the Congress party and Aruna wife of former minister Gali Janardhan Reddy who is the nominee of Karnataka Rajya Pragati Paksha, among others.

President of Ballari district unit of Bharatiya Janata Party Murahara Gouda told Deccan Chronicle on Wednesday that despite 24 nominees being in fray, the contest would be among the four nominees. Others in the fray would make no impact on the outcome of the results.

Among the constituencies having low nominees include Yamakanamaradi, Deodurga, Thirthahalli, Kundapura, Kapu, Mangaluru and Bantwal, all of these seats have only five nominees in the fray.

Disclosing details at a press conference here on Wednesday, State Election Commission Manoj Kumar Meena said as many as 2,427 male nominees and 185 women nominees and a lone transgender in the contest. A total of 2, 613 remain in the fray.

There a total of 5,30,85,566 eligible voters which include 2,66,82,156 male voters and 2,63,98,483 female voters. Among the voters are 4,927 transgender.

There are 47,488 service voters which include 45,897 male and 1,591 female voters. For service voters working across the country and world, he said, postal ballots have been sent electronically to all the service voters and the postal ballots should reach Returning Officers on or before the day of counting that is on May 13.

Among 80 years and above include 1, 215, 920 voters, 11, 71, 558 young voters, 571281 disabled voters and 3,048 Non Resident Indian voters. For the ensuing Assembly polls taking the total numbers of polling booths to 58, 545 would be set-up.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story